Friday’s Hunt v3.12

Friday’s Hunt 

This week at Eden Hills we’re hunting for Starts with L, Week’s Favorite, and antique. If you haven’t been over to see the spring goat kids, you’d better get a move on! Just click the link at the end of the post.

Week’s Favorite: Saw this today at Norfolk Botanical Garden

IMG_3869

Starts with L: Lunch (Some of you may have seen this on Facebook.) Bahama Breeze restaurant, Quesadilla and House Salad with Island Vinaigrette. Mmmm!

IMG_3861

Antique: I could make this easy and post a selfie…
…but, instead, this is some of the antique furniture found in the 1886 Roanoke River Lighthouse which has been restored and now resides in Edenton, NC. 

DSCN0714

Linking to

upload-button

26 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt v3.12

    • We had Show & Tell in 5th grade, and we were supposed to bring an antique. One girl in class had the teacher come forward and used her as the subject of her “tell.” The teacher laughed, but I couldn’t believe the classmate had the nerve to do that!

      Like

  1. Love that tree, its color so nice when set alongside the sea of green leaves surrounding it…lunch looks yummy! The simplicity of the furniture harkens back to a simpler time, in home decorating anyway. And I really like that the furniture has not been restored to a better-than-new look, maintaining its character…

    Like

    • I liked that about the old desk, too, natural looking. I seem to be drawn to desks, maybe that’s the writer in me–or the perpetual student! The tree was begging for attention!

      Like

  2. Nice looking that you found in Norfolk. We have several Norfolk named towns in the U.S. I was born and grew up on a farm 15 miles northeast of Norfolk, Nebraska. Love your antique writing desk. I have Dad’s, one that his aunt gave him when she died. I suppose 1920’s genre. It is more plain and was made in a factory I am sure.
    ..

    Like

  3. The tree is lovely. Your lunch look refreshing and tasty. I love touring historical places. The antiques are hold many secrets of what they witnessed through the years.

    Like

  4. Lunch at Bahama Breeze. We dined there only once, and it was good. There were not many of them where we lived at the time, only the one and it was a distance to travel. Love the trees at Norfolk Botanical Garden. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

    • Bahama Breeze has been there a while, and not that far from home–but we’d never eaten there. Things are staring to come to life at the botanical garden! Blessings to you, Carol Ann.

      Like

  5. The blossoms on that tree are just stunning. You are so lucky to have spring already. Here it’s just a load of snow and no sign of spring whatsoever. I expect I will start to see some ground in another month. I hope. Then my bulbs will start to come up in May. How wonderful to have a lighthouse on a river – lovely pieces of furniture. It sounds like an interesting place to visit.

    Like

    • There weren’t many things in bloom on this trip to the gardens, but those that were really stood out. I’m thankful for spring, I tend to stay indoors when it’s cold, so by spring I am ready to spring outside! Hubby and I are both enamored with lighthouses, so it was a real treat to go inside one. This one resembles a house more than the typical tall, narrow lighthouses we see so often.

      Like

    • I am SO FAR BEHIND on blogging. Have some other things I’m trying to get done and there just isn’t time to do everything. Thank you, Rose, and lunch was wonderful!

      Like

    • Bahama Breeze is about five minutes from our house, but we just never went there. A friend and I visited it for lunch, and I’m pretty sure I’ll be going back again. The cherry trees are loaded with flowers this year. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. You made me smile with the reference to yourself as an antique. I’m feeling quite antiquish myself these days. The tree is beautiful. I am anxious for the trees to really start budding and blooming here. Lunch looks mighty delicious! Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

    • I do feel like an antique–more so on some days. LOL The cherry trees in our area are outdoing themselves this year. Lunch was good, will have to go there again. For once I remembered to photograph the food before I ate it! Thanks for hosting!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

