Friday’s Hunt v3.1

Friday’s Hunt
All Seasons
Wild Bird Wednesday

Snow is falling tonight! I suppose that is not a surprise to many of you since The Weather Channel said this storm is affecting 15 states. Stay safe out there!ย 

We’re looking for Starts with A, Week’s Favorite, and Beginning this week.

Starts with A: Antlers

dscn4761

Reindeer we saw before Christmas “pulling” a sailboat.

Week’s Favorite: Eastern Bluebird

dscn4787-1

Finally got a shot of the Eastern Bluebird!

Beginning: The beginning of Black-eyed Susans

Black-eyed Susans

Linking to
upload-button

seasonswidgetgreysunset_4269-copy

Wild Bird Wednesday

43 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt v3.1

  1. Antlers is a very suitable “A.” Both my teams are in but it’s a stretch for either of them to win. I think this Lions-Seattle game should be good. I’m making cookies and watching football so loving the weekend despite the miserable cold. Congrats on the E. Bluebird shot, a good photo and a pretty creature.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The games have been rater lop-sided in the scoring this weekend. Enjoyed the snow days inside watching, though. Cookies have been on my mind lately–my mom’s Fruit Cocktail Cookies, to be precise. What kind did you bake? Thanks! I’m beyond delighted to see bluebirds showing up!

      Like

    • Thanks, Darlene! I’m staying in where it’s warm, though I do bundle up and make sure feeders are filled for our feathered friends. We have a warming trend coming so the snow should be a thing of the past toward the end of the week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We had a huge snowfall overnight – but up here, we have to expect that! I hope yours isn’t too bad. Love the shot of the sailboat “figurehead” – very creative! Black-eyed Susans — ahhh, might see those starting around May. Long way off!

    Like

    • I imagine you are quite familiar with snow and manage to carry on. It brings everything to a sudden stop here. So many times we have a “chance” of snow, everyone prepares, then nothing happens. When a “blizzard warning” was announced, grocery shelves were picked clean the day before. We got less accumulation than was predicted. The wind blew it sideways, and wherever it landed from there! LOL It was powdery, we’re used to wet snow that gets plowed off the roads and parking lots into huge piles resembling icebergs. Early on, a lot of sleet was mixed in, so when hubby tried to clean the front steps today, they were covered in thick ice. I look forward to flowers and spring!

      Like

  3. Up here in CW Connecticut, we received 5 inches – it was so light and fluffy our daughter didn’t mind shoveling it all (I hope ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t know Santa’s reindeer also worked as deckhands on boats. The sprout suggests that Spring warmth is not too far away…

    Like

    • We were surprised at the powdery nature of this snowfall. I went out to clean off the platform feeders expecting an icy mess, but the snow sifted easily through the mesh bottom! I proceeded to do my happy dance! LOL Early on we got sleet, which coated everything else with several layers of ice. Reindeer must need jobs in the off-season. The greenery was from a previous yearโ€“taken on a nice warm day!

      Like

    • I couldn’t believe the bluebirds showed up in our yard after eight or so years. I’ve seen them at my daughter’s, and marveled at the number of them there. I’ve seen only three here, but I’ll take what I can get! Happy New Year to you!

      Like

    • I thought that was quite a creative display of the reindeer. I was delighted to have these colorful birds show up! Now I know why they’ve come to symbolize happiness.

      Like

  4. That deer is a curious looking piece of work. Such good fun that it’s pulling a sailboat. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Your bird is beautiful. Bluebirds are always a cheerful flash of color to see.
    Looks like your flowers are trying with all their might to bring in the warm days and sunshine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • The reindeer was a fun find–photo worthy! I’ve only seen bluebirds in my daughter’s yard, so I am delighted to have “my own.” The flowers were from the archives–I struggled to find something “beginning.” Several inches of snow have the gardens covered for now.

      Like

  5. All your pictures are great, Patti. Hubby says he thinks we got about 8″ of snow in our part of VA Beach. Too much snow for me lol

    Like

  6. A really good picture of your bluebird find, Patti. I ‘approve’ your grandson’s liking of sporty cars. Our 7-year old granddaughter can identify most modern cars. She likes Hondas best, her daddy drives one. She does like my older ’98 Mustang GT Convertible. I do too, it was my retirement present. It may last me as long as I am driving.
    ..

    Like

    • Thanks, Jim! That says a lot if she can ID modern cars–so many look similar now. My brother and I used to see who could identify cars we saw on road trips. It was probably easier then. We tend to keep cars a long time, too. When you buy what you like, it’s a pleasure to drive.

      Like

  7. I would never think of decorating a boat! How fun. Love the image of the bluebird. We are a long way from thinking of the beginning of any plants. Thanks so much for joining in Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  8. S,o how much snow did fall, Patti? This this your boat? In Southern California, where I lived, they had with Christmas a whole boat parade with Christmas decorations (all organized by boat owners) – it looked so fun! Thanks you for r sharing yours with ALL SEASONS! Have a great week and stay warm:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • We probably got about eight inches of snow. No, not our boat, just one we saw in our travels. They used to do the boat parade, but I haven’t seen it mentioned in a few years. Our temps are increasing a little every day, today, 40s, with 60s by the weekend. Now that’s how I like my winter! LOL

      Like

  9. Love the bluebird! I would be happy to send you some of our snow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope it doesn’t get too deep where you are. It’s so beautiful though….I have to admit I have enjoyed seeing it.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

