Share Your World–2016 Week 44

Share Your World

Hubby and our son-in-law were out of town over the weekend, so I drove up to hang out with our daughter. Visions of art projects danced in our heads. We got some GREAT deals since paper-crafting supplies were 50% off, but shopping was all we accomplished.

Now, it’s time for Cee’s Share Your World questions!

What was your favorite subject in school?
Spelling in elementary school, Home Economics in middle school, and Home Arts in high school. 

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?
Two hours every day? Be still my beating heart! House cleaning/painting/errand running

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?
West Virginia, no it is not.

In your opinon, list some places that are great for shopping.
A few of my favorites: Amazon.com, Eddie Bauer, Hobby Lobby, Best Buy, Hallmark

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m grateful to get to spend the weekend with my daughter, looking forward to spending time outside with warmer temperatures for a few days this week.

share-your-world2

27 thoughts on “Share Your World–2016 Week 44

  1. Biology, 2 houts a day for how long? Washing windows, spring cleaning, well that wil keep them busy! Belfast, no i live in Bangor now. DON’T like shopping so no where fo me. I am grateful that I have just compleeted 2 days acting as Nanny stevenson at Mount Stewart. Looking foward to rest a bit this week, been very tired recently

    Like

    • I only had one year of Biology, but I really liked it–except for dissection! The smell of formaldehyde permeated the entire building! There’s always something to be done around the house. Playing Nanny tends to wear one out, I hope you are able to rest and get your energy back.

      Like

  2. I like that your subject likes changed as you grew up. I pretty much had the same one all through school: Library, regardless if we were there 15 minutes or an hour. Okay so Library wasn’t a subject per se, but it was my favorite anyway.
    I totally agree with you on having a servant for Housework; dusting, vaccuming and especially mopping.
    It sounds like a joyful day spent with your daughter. Getting crafts is a nice bonus.
    Hope you have a great week.
    🙂

    Like

    • It was nice when our class got to go to the library. In elementary school, the bookmobile traveled around to the different schools. Just think how much we could accomplish if housework didn’t enter into the picture! She and I always have fun when we get some time together. She hears “Mommy” a lot, so it’s hard to carry on a complete conversation sometimes! Thanks, E.C., and a great week to you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • We haven’t had Hobby Lobby here very long, so it was a nice addition to the local craft/decor market. (I don’t suppose the other stores were happy about it.) I like to look at all they have, too.

      Like

  3. I had no favorite subject since I hated school with a passion.. but spelling was the one thing I excelled in. Home Ec nearly did me in when we started sewing… I ended up ripping my dress in half because of the 3rd time I put in a zipper wrong…
    my servant would be cooking the whole 2 hours for when she was not there to cook.
    I do not live where I went to school for any of the grades..
    I know you had a super time with your daughter.. and now you have the crafts for the next visit.

    Like

  4. Reading and spelling in elementary school; English in high school (maybe that’s why I was an English major in college!). My servant would be a cook – I’m not a fan of cooking but I can do it. In 3rd grade I lived in my family homestead where my dad was born. Now after 20-some years of living away in other states in other parts of the USA, I live about 4 miles away from my childhood home. Shopping? I’m with you – Amazon. I also find good bargains at TJ Maxx, Marshalls, & Ross.

    Like

  5. I wouldn’t like anyone to come to my house to do anything. I’m the type of person that would clean my house before the cleaning people came. : )

    Like

    • Our weather is up and down. Friday was jeans and sweaters, Sat & Sun were warm enough for shorts and tank tops, Mon & Tues, cool, supposed to be warm Wed & Thurs., then it’s downhill again. I guess that’s why I like summer–it’s going to be hot, and that can be depended upon! LOL

      Like

  6. 1. English Literature
    2. Cleaning, ironing, organizing
    3. Hilda, Alberta. I live nowhere near there now.
    4. Amazon, Winners, any bookstore
    5. Thankful for these fabulous warm days and walks with my new dog.

    Like

  7. Great that you were able to spend time with your daughter–and get some great deals for your next art project. Neat that your favorite subject in elementary school was spelling. That has never been a real favorite of mind. I remember once I went to a local spelling bee, and my first word was *cologne*!! That was an unpleasant shocker, as I had no idea how it was spelled. Needless to say, I’ve never forgotten it. These days though, I’m just happy spellcheck exists!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ah, West Virginia! I’ve only known one other person from there. Amazon is a big favorite of mine, and I recently discovered Hobby Lobby. I don’t really craft, but I can spent hours wandering their signs/wall hangings/decorative section.

    Like

  9. I always enjoyed spelling, too, except for the fourth grade spelling bee. I got booted for the word “orchestra”, which I know I spelled correctly, but oh well. 🙂 I loved Home Ec/Arts, but it didn’t love me back. No matter which sewing machine I went to, it acted up that day. They always worked fine for everyone else. One girl made an entire suit in the time it took me to make one little bitty shirt. haha

    I am glad that you got to spend time with your daughter and having fun shopping. What art did you two have in mind? I hope you’ll be able to create it the next time you visit with her. 🙂

    Have a blessed day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Suzanne. I just found your comment as I sort through blog email that has reached overwhelming proportions. My daughter (also named Suzanne) and I were hoping to do some art journaling, scrapbooking, just playing with paper in general. We haven’t had the opportunity to get together with the busyness of the holidays and three hours separating us, but hopefully, we can make that happen soon. Thank you for sharing your adventures in sewing–I truly could identify. Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi, Patti. I understand all about overwhelming email. Mine is about ready to explode, too. haha

        How cool that your daughter is also named Suzanne. I haven’t met very many in person. How did you come about choosing that name for her? I am named after my great-grandmother Annie and her sister Suzie. Daddy wanted to name me Suzie Annie, but Mama combined them to be Suzanne. 🙂 For years, I was thankful that Mama did that. These days, though, I’m kind of wishing my daddy had won out. At least then I would have had a middle name. 🙂

        It sounds like you and your daughter had a fun and creative time planned. I hope that you’ll be able to have that time together soon. Our youngest daughter is at a university 3 hours away from home and the oldest daughter is at a university a little over 2 hours from here. Our Marine son is over 7,000 miles from home.

        Thank you for writing me. Have a blessed evening. 🙂

        Like

Please share your thoughts.

