Share Your World–2016 Week 42

Share Your World

Chris provides our questions this week, let’s see what she has for us…

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with?  (And why, if you feel like admitting to it.)
I usually start with closets or shelves. They seem to catch things that don’t have a home, or are used infrequently.

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?
If it’s important, there’s a reminder on my phone as well as written note in my day planner. Yes, it works. (For me.)

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize:  sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?
I want to hear the birds singing/chattering/bickering at the feeder.

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?
I really don’t know.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m grateful our son-in-law was able to compete in the 2016 OCR World Championships and the family got some vacation time in Blue Mountain, Canada. I’m looking forward to the Stamp Scrap Art Tour this weekend in Hampton, Virginia. 

I hope you’ll share your answers, too. Thanks, Cee, for hosting.

share-your-world2

20 thoughts on “Share Your World–2016 Week 42

  1. Good ones!
    1. It would be my office. It is the only room that gets cluttered. Writers like to save stuff in piles.
    2. A sticky note and on my calendar.
    3. Sight, I need to be able to see things that matter, especially photos
    4. I would so love to interview my great great great grandmother, Anna Maria Herrman and ask her what her life was like. I have a picture of her and she looks so lovely and serene.
    5. I am thankful that I got to see my friend Jayne before her operation today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to start cleaning somewhere else, because if I start on my desk, I’ll never get any further! LOL Sticky notes are wonderful! It’s no wonder they are so popular. How cool that you have a photo and know the name of your great great great grandmother! An old family photo with no names is what sparked my desire to journal. I’m glad you got to see your friend, and I hope she is doing well.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sticky notes are great–for everything! The bird song came to mind because I really miss it when the birds are off doing something else. I really miss that Mockingbird! Can’t wait till spring!

      Like

  2. my room would be full of natural light and sunshine… must have my kindle and if I could INTERNET. ha ha
    my house I pretty much clutter free, but there is half the hall closet that has baskets of Christmas that I want GONE but don’t want to tackle it.

    Like

    • I like a bright, sunny room. Most of the windows in our house are smallish, or covered for privacy (we live on a very busy street). I guess that’s why I like my kitchen window so much. Now I’m watching the leaves FALL off the oak. I have a closet like that in my sewing room. Maybe when Christmas rolls around this year, I’ll get all that “stuff” out of there and forget to put it back.

      Like

    • Most of my busyness has been around home. We didn’t get to go to Canada, but the kids really enjoyed it. They were kind enough to send me a video of Niagara Falls. 😉

      Like

  3. Thanks, Patti. My answers would be
    1. The wardrobe – it seems to gather things all on it’s own
    2. Note on my calendar, in the phone, on the iP and iMac. How is it then that I sometimes forget something?
    3. Sunshine, bright light and a lovely view. Oh yes, and flowers.
    4. I should like to intervir=ew my great grandmother
    5. I’m grateful for being almost back to normal. I’m grateful to both my children for being so supportive. Looking forward to the weekend. It’s a holiday and I’m off to visit and stay with a friend in the Wairarapa.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Closets and wardrobes do seem to “gather things on their own!” I can identify with a note everywhere, but if I leave in a hurry, I forget to check my calendar. Have fun on your visit with your friend!

      Like

  4. Onteresting there is a question about de cluttering as recently a blogger revommeneded a book called The More of less. EVerYone should get it and read it. several of my frineds now have and ALL of us are slowly de cluttering out homes and getting our priroties right. I recomment it to you.

    Like

  5. Hi Patti!
    I am pretty de-cluttered but the finished basement is NOT de-cluttered in CH’s area and that is his problem 🙂
    If I want to remember something I put it on the wall calendar in the kitchen and tell CH who promptly puts it on his phone.
    Sight
    I have no idea. I was lucky to know my grandma on my Mom’s side.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

