Share Your World–2016 Week 41

Share Your World

Thanks for the thoughts and prayers sent our way in light of the recent hurricane. We came through it well with all the water staying outside the house. We had no more electrical issues after the initial flickering. Others in our area have been without power since the storm, and many areas are still dealing with floodwaters. The crews are out working, I saw several trucks from the power company in one neighborhood when I was out this afternoon. Hopefully, life will return to some sense of normalcy for everyone affected by Hurricane Matthew soon. 

And now, to Share Your World. Cee had help from the neighborhood kids again this week. I think they did a pretty good job, don’t you?

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight?
    Yes. It happened to me. 
  2. Your first car?
    1962 Chevy Nova
  3. Who taught you to ride a bike? How did it go?
    No one really taught me. I got on it and tried until I got it. 
  4. Ugly and rich or beautiful and poor?
    I think there’s beauty in everyone, and one can be rich in many ways aside from money.
  5. What was the first dish you could cook?
    My grandmother taught me how to fry thinly-sliced potatoes in a single layer in a cast iron skillet, like thick potato chips. 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m grateful to have escaped the wrath of Hurricane Matthew; I look forward to trying some new recipes from my recent cookbook purchase, “Inspiralized,” with the spiralizer attachment for my Kitchenaid mixer. For dinner tonight I made Caprese Zucchini Salad–I’m hooked! 

Please share your answers, and check out the others at:

share-your-world2

22 thoughts on “Share Your World–2016 Week 41

    • I wasn’t familiar with the car, so I Googled it. What color was yours? I hadn’t heard of champ, but I’ve eaten it. (Looked up the recipe to see how it’s made.) Thanks for joining in, Margaret.

      Like

  1. So glad you are all OK. Here are my answers
    1. Yes, it happened to me as well.
    2. Can you believe a Chevy Nova, 1977 I believe. Mine was lemon yellow, what colour was yours?
    3. I think my dad taught me but I was never very good at it.
    4. Odd question, I like your answer
    5. The first dish I cooked on my own was chilli con carne.
    I am thankful we just had Thanksgiving in Canada. We should be thankful every d ay but it is good to have a special day to reflect on all we have. I am also thankful the storm is passed and everyone is OK.

    Like

    • My Nova was a deep red, almost burgundy, with red interior and white convertible top. (A top I could never put down.) My brother put a new top on it and said it was so tight, he didn’t think I’d be able to get it back up if I put it down. My high school boyfriend had a Nova the same body style as yours. I hadn’t realized Matthew went further north and created havoc in Nova Scotia. I doubt they’ll use that name again. Thank you, Darlene.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. the salad sounds delish. my first car was a 1956 Chevy.. in 1962…the year I graduated high school. I have never believed in love at first sight but that doesn’t mean it can’ happen, just never to me. I started cooking at age 12 so don’t remember what it was. I had to help mother with everything so grew up knowing. I am so happy for you that you came through Matthew ok.. so many did not.

    Like

    • It was a good salad, but I think I’ll use Panera’s balsamic next time. That ’56 was a classic. I wasn’t much for cooking, still not, I suppose! I have a lovely collection of cookbooks, though! LOL Thankfully, my sister-in-law gave me a cookbook for a wedding present. It probably saved us from starving! There is still flooding up this way, and in North Carolina. One of their rivers is supposed to crest tomorrow (Friday, 14th) but it won’t go away for a few more days. I feel for them.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

