Friday’s Hunt v2.9

Friday’s Hunt

This week we’re hunting for Starts with I, Week’s Favorite, and Pink.

“I” is for instar. This is the first-stage caterpillar from the egg of a Black Swallowtail Butterfly.

I see a huge gap between the first and second photos. Please scroll down to see #2-3. Thanks!

IMG_3294

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Week’s Favorite: Black Swallowtail chrysalis

If you look closely, you can see the delicate web “girdle” attaching it to the stem. I witnessed a Northern Cardinal snacking on a large caterpillar, so I put a few in an aquarium in the kitchen to preserve some butterflies. 

IMG_3298

Pink: Our Encore Azalea is blooming

IMG_3286

Linking to:

upload-button

 

 

27 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt v2.9

  1. I must have been absent one day in biology, the day we studied the instar. I knew caterpillars and butterflies only. Pretty Azalias. We get ours in March down here in Texas, except for the ‘everblooming’ ones.
    ..

    Like

    • I didn’t learn the term instar until i started a butterfly garden and came upon it in the course of learning about them. Most azaleas here bloom March to April, depending on the weather. The encore variety blooms spring/fall, or like this one, whenever it feels like it! We weren’t sure this one was even going to make it, but it has come back strong. I think it’s making up for lost time.

      Like

    • It is, Ralph! My grandkids like it when there are butterflies in the kitchen. 🙂 The azalea is about the only colorful thing out there this summer. Some of the flowers are starting to make a comeback, now that the broiling heat has eased off.

      Like

  2. I hope you are successful at hatching the butterflies. They are such beautiful creatures! I was enjoying watching a black swallowtail on my thistles today. The azaleas are beautiful too. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

    • Thanks for hosting, Teresa. I hope to watch them emerge, too. What a great process. We visited the butterfly house at the botanical garden Sunday. They have so many varieties. Thank you!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

