Friday’s Hunt v2.8

Friday’s Hunt v2.8

This week we are hunting for things that Start with H, Week’s Favorite, and Single.

Thursday didn’t seem as Hot as what has become the norm, so I took my iPhone 6 Plus to the backyard with me when I filled feeders and birdbaths. I checked the fennel, and found several Hungry Black Swallowtail caterpillars. This is the first time I’ve seen them this year. 

IMG_3259

My Week’s Favorite shows the Black-eyed Susans moved in with the fennel. They were probably like the rest of us, looking for a wee bit of shade. 

IMG_3257

Most of the Purple Coneflowers resemble burnt toast, but I found this single blossom. 

IMG_3256

Linking to
upload-buttonand
seasonswidgetgreysunset_4269-copy

Seasons: http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=272172&type=thumbnail

 


34 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt v2.8

  1. We were getting into the hots also, 99 and 102 were our norms until the rain. Now it is down to the high 80’s. The black eyed Susans look nice, are they wild?
    ..

    Like

    • It cooled off here a little, too, Jim. What a relief! It’s not so bad to venture out now. I planted Black-eyed Susans in that bed several years ago, but not in that area. The last two years the foliage had what appeared to be a fungal disease and they didn’t amount to much. I don’t know if these were from those, or if they were transplanted from the wildflower garden we sowed last year.

      Like

    • I have so many caterpillars this year! Last year, I think the birds ate most of them. Part of me wants to bring them inside. They are getting so big! I imagine they’ll be in chrysalis soon, if not already. Thanks, Sandra!

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by Su-sieee! Last year the birds tried to eat all the caterpillars, so I was happy to find these big ones. Those are two of my favorite flowers. The Goldfinches like them, too.

      Like

    • Thanks, Eileen. I’m getting some things cleaned up around the house. Now the weather’s cooled off a bit, I need to refocus and get outside and enjoy it again. Hope you have a lovely week, too.

      Like

  2. Pretty caterpillar I’d love to see some of them caterpillars in the wild, but they are quite elusive. I know they’re there because we have the butterflies from them. Your black-eyed susans and cone flowers are lovely. 🙂

    Like

    • Plant some fennel, it’s a host plant for the Black Swallowtails. They like parsley, too. But be prepared to share, they eat a lot! Thanks! Those are two of my favorite flowers. I hope to increase their number next year and take out the day lilies.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The caterpillar also looks happy! Love the image of the Black-eyed Susans. The cone flower does look a bit lonely. Thank you so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

    • There were a few coneflowers, but when the heatwave settled in, they weren’t very happy about it. Maybe they’re coming back to life now that’s it’s cooling down a bit. Thanks for hosting, it’s always fun. You have a great week, too!

      Like

  4. Stunning image of the caterpillar, Patti! Thank you much for sharing with SEASONS this week – have a great one, and hope to see you back coming Sunday! Now I know cone flowers can grow where I live, I’m looking for a nursery who has them!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

