Wild Bird Wednesday #208–American Crow

Wild Bird Wednesday–American Crow, Adult and Juvenile

Crows are usually skittish, but lately, these two spend a fair amount of time in our yard. Often I hear the caw of the juvenile somewhere on the roof, and usually find the adult looking for food, or waiting for the juvenile to join it on a bare branch in the oak tree. Normally skittish, it seems odd the adult will sit atop the feeder pole, looking down at the empty dish until I fill it. Yes, I’m easily trained.ย 

The smaller songbirds keep their distance until the crows leave–usually with a Northern Mockingbird on their tail, telling them they’ve worn out their welcome.

Click any photo to bring up the slideshow.

 

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday

21 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday #208–American Crow

    • I was just seeing these two, then the rest of the family came! They didn’t stay long. These two sat high on the utility pole across the street for a good while today, cawing.

      Like

    • I enjoyed watching them. They really are intelligent birds. I was thinking this might be my Good Fence post, knowing you are a fan of crows. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you stopped by to see them.

      Like

  1. There used to be one crow (I’m assuming it was the same each time) that would make lots of noise when I threw out corn for the ducks. I haven’t heard it lately; perhaps it moved on to another “restaurant”!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

