Good Fences #117

Good Fences #117

I’m sticking close to home this week. In fact, this is the “Fennel and Milkweed Jungle” in my backyard, viewed from a lawn chair. We’re ready for Black Swallowtail and Monarch butterflies and caterpillars! I’m sure the birds are looking forward to them, too – but for other reasons.

Hope you have a great weekend! It’s Father’s Day weekend here in the U.S., thankful for all the dads. Where would we be without them?Β 

IMG_3049

good fences

TF LOGO - FONT CAMBRIA_9-23-15_IMG_1927

Thankful Thursday

40 thoughts on “Good Fences #117

  1. How beautiful Patti! I planted milkweed for the first time this year. The grower told me that the plants will take a while to get established so I am hoping that they will flourish in the next few years. Do the butterflies like fennel too? Thank you for sharing this lovely post with me this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was pretty sparse when it started out, but it has filled in over the years. I like plants that do that! It’s a lovely weekend, here. Hope yours is the same.

      Like

    • Yes, they do! One year the aphids got here before the butterflies, last year we were inundated with milkweed bugs. I didn’t even know they had their own bugs! LOL

      Like

    • We did see a hummer on the bee balm last week, but I haven’t seen one at the feeder yet. I even got them a little swing to rest on this year! Hope your weekend is as lovely as ours!

      Like

  2. I love your garden! Do you harvest the fennel for cooking? It is father’s day here in Spain (and most of Europe) as well. Mother’s Day is different all over the world but Father’s day seems to be universal.

    Like

    • Thanks, Darlene. No, I leave it for the caterpillars. I like the smell of fennel, but never used it in a recipe. Not sure hubby would like it. Hubby’s visiting his dad this weekend, and doing more work around his house.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

