Friday’s Hunt v1.24

Friday’s Hunt

This week’s prompts: The letter X, Week’s Favorite, and Water or Wet

Starting with water, Norfolk Botanical Garden borders on Lake Whitehurst. I eased onto the low bench at one of my favorite observation spots. I’d hardly gotten situated when I saw a Mallard‘s head pop up in the marshy area in front of me. The water level is higher than usual with all the rain we’ve had, bringing the water’s edge closer to the bench. I got the camera ready, and in focusing, I saw several little heads pop in line right behind her – seven to be exact. And off they went. I felt badly for having disturbed them.

DSCN4218

My Favorite shot is one I struggled all week to get. Grayscale makes the silhouette more visible, otherwise the shot was trash! This is a young Downy Woodpecker hanging on for dear life figuring out how to get into the Starling-proof suet feeder. 

Young Downy figuring out the feeder

Young Downy figuring out the feeder

Yes, I saved for last. Thanks to my gluten-free granddaughter, I happen to have this on hand.

IMG_3050

upload-button

 

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Hunt v1.24

  1. I love the letter X. It’s so challenging (unless you cheat and give goats an X name) and I always learn something! How great to watch the young woody figure out the feeder. Love the image of the duck and her babies. Thanks for joining in Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  2. Awww, the duck and her kids! We have all types of bird babies being brought to the feeders and it is beyond funny. Some get it, some don’t. Funniest is the baby red-bellied woodpecker. They are the biggest babies and they have lots of crying going on!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

