Wild Bird Wednesday #190 Mallard Ducks and Bald Eagle juvenile

Wild Bird Wednesday

Mallards
Bald Eagle
Mourning Cloak butterfly

I checked out a new park and after a muddy wetland walk (I use the word “walk” rather loosely here) I found this pair of Mallards basking in the late afternoon sun–just across the parking lot from my car. 

Mallards, Stumpy Lake

Mallards, Stumpy Lake

The park has promise (some hot summer day after a long dry spell). I caught a glimpse of a Pileated Woodpecker, and later heard it laughing at how it outsmarted me. A bright Bluebird also caught my eye, but I could never get it in focus. 

This isn’t a good shot of the Bald Eagle juvenile, but I was just happy to see  it on my way home, sitting atop an electrical tower.

Bald Eagle juvenile, Honey Bee GC

Bald Eagle juvenile, Honey Bee GC

It seemed early in the season for a butterfly

Mourning Cloak butterfly

Mourning Cloak butterfly

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday, where Stewart shares a beautiful White Tern–and a wee Tern chick, too! Come see! And link up your bird photos while you’re there, all are welcome to participate.

31 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday #190 Mallard Ducks and Bald Eagle juvenile

    • Happy St. Patrick’s Day, E.C. Thank you. So good to see you! I have a link to your recent posts in my email, got a little behind this week. I’ll be by to see what you’ve come up with for the holiday.

      Like

  1. I love the colors on the butterfly. The mallards are so pretty. I agree a picture of a eagle is always wonderful. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Patti!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Shirley! I saw an eagle on the ground inside the airport fence recently, but there’s no parking allowed! I went to the small viewing lot to park and walked back, but by the time I got in sight of the eagle, it took off. Happy St. Patrick’s day to you!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

