Willy-Nilly Friday 5 No. 74

Willy-Nilly Friday 5

1. I realized I’ve not shared photos taken at the quilt show. This little quilt was made from printed panels. I fell for all those pretty birds. It was hanging in one of the vendor’s booths, so I didn’t get a nice, straight angle on it. 

IMG_2552

2. This was from a needle-felting kit I considered buying. When I found out I had to needle-felt my own dragonflies, I hesitated, considering I’ve not done that before. I did buy some needle-felting supplies at a previous show, so I need to practice a bit lot. 

IMG_2597

3. I experimented with a gluten-free recipe for pizzelles. Anyone want a pizzelle grill? Just kidding. I cleaned it.

IMG_2536

4. Then I got the idea to make the batter into cookies and bake them. The first batch stuck to the baking sheet, so I used parchment paper for subsequent pans. The final one (not because I was out of batter, but out of patience) ended up like this when the parchment slid off the tray. The grandkids liked the cookies that did turn out OK. I think I’ll stick to bird photography, and maybe try my hand at needle felting; and leave the baking to Julie! (Check out her White Chocolate Irish Cream cupcakes!)

IMG_2539

5. Here’s a sunset photo taken at our Town Center recently.

IMG_2687

Linking to:

 willnilly_zps3e671d87

 

 

33 thoughts on “Willy-Nilly Friday 5 No. 74

  1. Beautiful bird quilt. While I didn’t get to go this year, one of my dear friends went and she also sent me a pic of a bird quilt. I had to do a second take as I thought they were the same! Couldn’t help but chuckle on the cookies and parchment paper sliding off in over as I did just about the same thing recently. No fun cleaning up inded, but saved most of the cookies.

    Like

  2. Needle felting is actually quite easy. Just make sure you have something under your fabric while you are going up and down with the needle. It’s quite easy to accidentally stab your fingers (which yes, smarts like a bugger!) so be careful! But it is fun and I love the way it looks. I just used needle felting to make some elbow patches on a cashmere cardigan and am quite pleased with the results.

    Like

  3. help, i am giggling and i can’t stop. the baking/cooking has me ROFL.. i hate cooking, really hate it and this is one of many reasons why. i choked when you said you would stick to needle felting. can’t wait to see your dragonflies. or NOT.. LOL… love the bird quilt and the dragon fly’s.. the only talent i have is turning my kindle off and on and trying to get the pillows just right behind my head

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patti – I laughed out loud at the pizzelles! I’ve made messes like that in the kitchen more than once! The quilts are beautiful. And I loved that you referenced Julie’s blog which is of course amazing.

    Like

    • Julie is amazing. Not only can she make all those wonderful dishes, she photographs them like a pro. We might as well laugh at our kitchen foibles, we still have to clean them up. However, I hope I don’t have to do that again any time soon.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you like the quilt. The glass in that building changes throughout the day, depending on the sky. It does look like it could be fire. Finally, I got that shot!

      Like

  5. That is one very special quilt! I am in awe of people who can do that. The felting looks intriguing as well. Your baking disasters had me giggling. Some days are like that.

    Like

  6. The bird quilt is pretty. As to needle felting, I have never attempted it so if you do, I hope you post about it. But I tell myself I need no more hobbies.

    Like

    • I could do with fewer hobbies, but it’s hard to pick just one thing! I guess I feel like I have a lot of supplies that need to be used. My daughter needle felted colorful acorns and put them in a clear glass vase. They turned out so well for her!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

