Share Your World–2016 Week 7

Share Your World

Cee has three easy questions for us this week, and a new feature: a sentence to complete. Looks like fun! I hope you’ll join the fun with your own blog post linked to Cee’s blog, or share your responses in the comments. Thanks! 

What are you a “natural” at doing?
Exploring nature.

Since we’re on that subject–today’s the last day of The Great Backyard Bird Count–look who stopped by to be counted! This female Red-bellied Woodpecker accompanied the male. I think his bachelor days are over. You can see where the “Red-bellied” name originated, something not seen often. I apologize for picture quality, it was raining, accompanied by the wind–and my happy dance. 

Red-bellied Woodpecker, female

Red-bellied Woodpecker, female

Would you prefer a one-floor house or multiple levels?
I like the extra workout I get having stairs, so two floors is good–for now. I suppose the time may come when a single level will be more practical. 

What was your favorite subject in school?
Bookkeeping.

Complete this sentence: If only the rain… 
…had stayed a way, my yard would be covered in snow today. Yay for rain! Yay for warmer temperatures! 

share-your-world2

29 thoughts on “Share Your World–2016 Week 7

  1. Red-bellied Woodpecker looks like she’s molting. You’re so lucky to have a pair visiting, perhaps this spring you’ll see a red belly baby.
    I enjoyed your Share Your World.
    We’re fairly drenched too. Like you, I thank the good Lord above that it’s not snow.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The woodpecker was drenched from the rain, so that didn’t help the look of her feathers. I hope to see a baby! In the past when we’ve had a pair, we never did see a young one. The Downies bring a young one almost every year.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I love your first picture especially! No snow for us either–we got a bit of rain but thank goodness did not get the ice that they were saying we were to get. Happy dance because the sun is out and it is going to be a warm sunny day after all!

    Like

  3. I think I´m a natural at telling stories. I get it from my grandfather and my dad.
    I prefer a one floor house. Ever since I broke my ankle I am a bit afraid of stairs.
    Favourite subject was English but I guess that is no surprise.
    If only the rain came at night while we are sleeping. (which it often does here in Spain)
    That little woodpecker looks drenched. Poor guy.

    Like

  4. i ave said this sentence dozens of time… if only the rain would only rain at NIGHT after i go to bed and stop when I get up.
    love the little female.
    i had no favorite subject in school, i hated school with a passion. all of it… if not for a dad with the means to stop me, i would never have finished. if i were in school now, i would take any classes in technology or photography

    Like

    • Darlene says that’s how the rain is in Spain! (I wonder if it’s mainly on the plain.) I guess we’re on the wrong continent! Those (school) years must have been torture for you, Sandra. I can’t even imagine. 7th grade Geography class was a favorite. I don’t know if it was learning about so many places, or the handsome student teacher we had one semester. Thankfully, now, there are technology classes–required!

      Like

  5. Hi Patti! Really enjoying your blog posts, and especially the bird photos. the one in the previous post, with the bird tree, is stunning. and this close-up is cute and fresh. Thanks for your comment in my blog 🙂 have a lovely week~

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

