Friday Memes

Friday–time for Willy Nilly Friday 5 #71 and Friday’s Hunt!

This week’s hunt includes: The Letter G, Week’s Favorite, and In My Kitchen

1. Hubby wasn’t feeling well Thursday, and came home from work early (gasp!) Friday. If you know him, you know that’s a rare occurrence. 

2. On top of that, we got snow this afternoon. White flakes and black birds fell from the sky, covering the yard.

Four-and-Twenty Blackbirds...

Four-and-Twenty Blackbirds…

3. In My KitchenOur daughter said with all those blackbirds, I should make a pie. I made cobbler instead. Oh, and I used blackberries, instead of blackbirds.

...baked in a pie...

…baked in a pie…

4. I removed the 6″  extension piece from my Canyon Hoops hula hoop today, making it 38″  and decreasing the weight to 1.5 lbs. It was like starting all over again, but I finally got the hang of it. I’m really enjoying it. I managed two 10-minute aerobic workouts.

5. For the Letter GThe Great Backyard Bird Count (GBBC) started today. It runs through Monday, February 15. Click the link to find out how to participate. They have a photo contest, too. The minimum requirement for birdwatching/counting is 15 minutes. Then you log your findings onto the bird list on the website. Changes in bird migration patterns, the number of birds, etc., are detected this way. 

Who's counting?

Who’s counting? This is my Week’s Favorite shot.

upload-button

willnilly_zps3e671d87

47 thoughts on “Friday Memes

  1. Beautiful collection of photos, specially blackbird on your yard. Somehow birds in the tree reminded me of Hitchcock’s film Birds. Thank god you chose blackberries in your pie instead of those cute birds.

    Like

  2. I love the snow flakes and black birds picture and the cobbler looks delicious. I think I will make hubby an apple cobbler, its his favourite and might make a nice Valentine’s Day gift. Hope your guy is feeling better.

    Like

    • Thanks, Darlene. Did you get your cobbler made? I was always told the way to a man’s heart was through his stomach. 😉 My hubby is improving, just a wee bit of a cough left. Sleeping for two days seemed to help a lot!

      Like

  3. Hope your hubby is feeling better now. That is a lot of birds! Wow! Glad you used blackberries instead of birds for your dessert. It looks delicious. Thank you so much for joining in at Friday’s Hunt.

    Like

    • Thanks, Teresa. He just has a bit of a cough left, but feeling better overall. It was a lot of birds, and they came hungry! They cleaned out the feeders they could get to and ate everything on the ground. Blackberry cobbler might be my favorite dessert, and it’s so easy to make. Friday’s Hunt is fun! Three items is a nice size (for me, anyway). Thanks for hosting!

      Like

  4. i think there are 87 million birds in the last shot.. bet they were noisy. i much prefer blackberry pie over black bird. LOL…hope hubby is ok today… i know if my husband came home early he was really really sick… male syndrome.

    Like

    • Yep, 87 million. I counted. Some were noisy, but they were so busy eating, there wasn’t time for that. I’m with you–berries instead of birds, for sure. Cleaning berries is a breeze. LOL Hubby is feeling much better, just a little cough remaining. Thanks!

      Like

  5. There’s a lot of birds under that feeder…we usually don’t see a Red-winged blackbird till spring is on its way. The cowbirds have pestered me, too…between them and the starlings the songbirds don’t get much of the food.

    Like

    • The Cowbirds mastered throwing the seed out of the feeder onto the ground for their friends and family! Starlings are just plain annoying! They always come in a big group, and they are all over everything that resembles food, and constantly bickering among themselves. They can’t get into the smaller gridded cages around the tube feeder and another feeder with four separate dishes, but they can be enough of a nuisance the little birds wait until the coast is clear. The cages run about $25 each, but I’m sure they saved that much in seed the first year.

      Like

  6. I was visiting my in- laws last week Patti. We saw a similar sight of Red-wing blackbirds in their back garden. Quite extraordinary. Your blackberry cobbler looked delicious. I have a bag of frozen ones in my freezer. You have given me an idea for a desert. Great post 🙂

    Like

  7. i like crumble’s, crisp’s and cobbler’s better than pie, i LOVE that type of topping better. i get bird infestations like who’s counting too!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure I’ve had a crumble, and I haven’t made a crisp in a long time. I might need to remedy that situation! You should be in the Atlantic flyway, too. Many migrating birds follow the coastline. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • I have a feeling those black birds will be seeing you soon! Thanks–I like that cobbler recipe, easy and yummy. Hope your bad weather is clearing out. I think we got near 60 today.

      Like

  8. Well, I have to come back and tell you that Roger heard a red-winged blackbird yesterday…I cannot believe it. He didn’t see it, but nothing else sounds like them. So, looks like theya re going to be here early!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I hope your hubby is feeling better. I am probably alone in this but I love brown headed cowbirds. I can’t explain why but they are fun birds.

    Like

    • Thank you, he’s feeling much better! Cowbirds are more people-friendly than most. We had a little female (she’d been raised by the sparrows) and was kind of on her own, still looking for “her” flock. She followed us around while we did yard and garden work, it was the cutest thing.

      Like

      • Starlings I understand in the UK. I never heard of Grackles until I moved to Grand Cayman. They were similar to the black birds that I knew in Dubai. I’ve never heard of red-winged blackbirds. Nor seen any. Thanks for introducing me to Cowbirds. In any case, it’s all about interdependence, isn’t it? Funny, I’ve just this minute finished watching on TV an episode of the new X-Files. It involved black birds, which gathered in huge flocks on the lawns where there were certain incidents.

        Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

