Willy Nilly Friday 5 #69

Willy Nilly Friday 5

I had this post written (in my head) but my hard drive must have crashed. Let’s see if I can remember all the randomness I wanted to share this week. 

1. Saturday: Breakfast at Panera, then we were off to the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center with a carload of “e-cycling” to get rid of. The parking area across the street from the aquarium is where the drop-off is held. We visited the VA&MSC gift shop while there for an item a friend thought our grandson would like. I found something I liked, too! (Truthfully, there were a LOT of items I liked.) Hubby got this book for me. I look forward to learning and sharing information specific to our area. 

IMG_2437

2. Sunday afternoon: A friend and I attended a play at The Little Theater of Norfolk. We saw the final performance of The Women, a comedy set in the 1930s, written by Clare Booth Luce.

3. It’s only taken a month, but today I came up with my word for 2016: Snag–as in I’m going to snag every opportunity to explore more city and state parks this year.

4. Today’s weather: IMG_2383

5. Today: I took a 3-hour hike at First Landing State Park. It was the perfect day for it. I’d planned to wash a load of clothes and grill veggies when I got home. The traffic lights were out on our street, which should have been my first warning something was amiss. The electricity was off when I got home, so, no laundry. I lit the grill and proceeded to chop zucchini, yellow squash, sweet onion, yellow and red bell peppers–by hand–on the cutting board–right next to the food processor. Wouldn’t you know? The power came on as I finished the last pepper. They were grilled before sunset, so I didn’t have to finish by flashlight. 

How was your weekend? 

Linking towillnilly_zps3e671d87

 

 

19 thoughts on “Willy Nilly Friday 5 #69

  1. Hello, the book looks interesting. I have never been to Virginia Beach. I did notice there were some wildlife refuges nearby. You will have a nice warm day, we are expecting colder weather this week. Enjoy your day and the week ahead!

    Like

    • It’s a heavy book, with lots of information, I can’t wait to get started! We’d like to go to the MacKay Island Refuge, but it’s only open on weekdays. They do have a viewing deck next to the road from which the migrating Snow Geese and Tundra Swans can be seen in the marshland (with binoculars). Monday was forecast to be the warmest day, so if I didn’t get out then, I knew I’d regret it! I’ll be writing today, so I may not get to visit until Wednesday. Hoping your week is filled with delightful moments. I love your treadmill view!

      Like

  2. I might just snag your snag… I need to MAKE myself get out more and look for things to photograph. beautiful book. i am still smiling at the hard drive crash. i can plan a story for my blog and if i don’t write it down it is gone. sometimes i write several words for hints to remind me. i look at the hints and think where did that post go. no clue what or how they fit together

    Like

    • Snag it, Sandra! I had to set a reminder on my phone to prompt me every day to take an Instagram photo for #i365. You’ve described this blogger’s life, too. 😀 So many words, and where’d that pen go? Forget trying to remember. Va. State Parks has a Facebook page and are seeking park visitors to share a photo and write a few paragraphs about a park visit. I had that beauty totally written in my head out there on the trail…

      Like

    • Apparently it hadn’t been off too long, the ice cream was still frozen. ;D That book has SO MUCH info, I can’t wait to see what I’ve been missing. Monday was our only warm day this week, plus I have writing to do today, so I’m really glad I got out there. Have a great day!

      Like

  3. That was a very interesting week you shared with us. I enjoy going to the aquarium. The books looks like a very interesting read. With all the snow we had up here we were very lucky to keep our power. Glad you got yours back.

    Like

    • We’re blessed to be right down the street from the Fire & Rescue Squad, I think that gives us priority during power outages. There used to be a hospital in this area, too. Thanks for reading, Denise.

      Like

  4. I am behind in blogging..but can’t resist saying I do enjoy reading your random 5…we had 64º temps yesterday but they are much colder today! The book looks interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Panera is always adding new, healthy menu items. I like their Power Almond Quinoa Oatmeal. And you can’t go wrong with the panini, either! Hubby likes the quiche (4 varieties). I hope you’ll give them a try sometime.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

