Willy Nilly Friday 5 #68, Friday’s Hunt

Willy Nilly Friday 5 #68
Friday’s Hunt v1.4

Sharing some random thoughts; this week’s prompts for Friday’s Hunt are Starts with D, Week’s Favorite, and Beautiful.

1. So thankful we didn’t get snow like so many of you have from Winter Storm Jonas. Initially, we had 2-3″ Friday, but come evening, the fluffy flakes turned into raindrops and melted it away. Saturday, I noticed the wind had changed direction, the fluffy flakes that had blown left to right Friday were replaced with tiny ice pellets blowing right to left. Once again, the ground was dressed in white. Tonight, the wind is howling like crazy, gusts to 50 mph expected. The storm link above says some areas had wind gusts in the 80-mph range. That’s hurricane strength!

D--Not very Deep

D–Not very Deep

2. The Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel (CBBT), the 17.6-mile span that links Virginia Beach with Virginia’s Eastern Shore, is under Level 5 wind restrictions. That doesn’t happen very often! It means they’ve clocked wind speeds at 65 mph. The only vehicles permitted to cross are cars with no exterior cargo. At Level 6, it closes to all traffic.

Sunsets from the CBBT can be Beautiful.

Sunsets from the CBBT can be Beautiful.

3.  I think the Northern Mockingbird might be my favorite photo this week. 

Northern Mockingbird

Northern Mockingbird

4. Our granddaughter, Miss Z, turned 5 this week. I have no photo because we haven’t been there since Christmas. We’ve missed three birthdays this month! We need to get up there and get our party on, don’t you think?

5. I’m off to bed. Won’t know whether we have church until tomorrow morning. It’s our week to help out with KidCheck, and we’ll need to be there early. At this time, we can’t get our front storm door open until hubby goes out and clears the ice build-up off the threshold. 

Is it spring yet?

Linking to Willy Nilly Friday 5
and Friday’s Hunt

 

45 thoughts on “Willy Nilly Friday 5 #68, Friday’s Hunt

  1. Hello Patti, wwe had about 21 inches of snow. I rather had as much as you did. Love the view of the water, pretty color. The mocker is a handsome bird, great shot. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    Like

    • Ours was closed, too. People from areas that are accustomed to life with large amounts of snow think it’s funny that no more than we had shuts down just about everything! Hope you’re managing well under the circumstances. Thanks for sharing your photos.

      Like

  2. the little bird looks so real i felt i could stroke its feathers. love the view of house and snow as long as it is yours not mine. glad you did not get the 30 inches snow.. ice can be just as bad. be safe if they have church.. for the past 2 days we have had gusting winds to 45 and cold air for us… they closed the Sunshine skyway twice due to winds

    Like

    • He’s scrunched up due to the cold, I think. He’s usually long and slender, the size of a robin, possibly a bit longer. I know what you mean about snow. I’d much rather see it in someone else’s pictures. It’s funny, though–as our snow melted and it deepened in other places, I felt like I was missing out on something! Had to shake myself out of that! LOL Side streets and parking lots were treacherous, so church was cancelled. Brrr, that is cold for you!

      Like

  3. No church for me today…we have had no thawing at all. That is one awesome sunset shot, Patti and a great capture of that sweet bird. That’s all I’ve done in the past 2 days….watch the birdies! Happy Sunday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It’s hard to not watch birdies when they are so plentiful and active, Debby. We get to reap the reward for all the seed we’ve sown. 😉 The sun is exceptionally bright this morning reflecting off the snow.

      Like

  4. beautiful photos..we didn’t get what they were calling for, i think about 15 inches but there’s a lot out there and 2 of my back doors still can’t open all the way lol…most churches are closed here today…if you go out, be careful and stay warm! thank’s for linking Patti!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 15″ would be enough, I imagine! Ours is closed, too, so we got to sleep in. I won’t be venturing out today–I’ll wait for a warming trend! Thanks for hosting, Tanya!

      Like

    • Thank you, Colline! We were inside for the weekend, only. Everything got back to normal, Monday, and Tuesday was warm enough to wear a light jacket. Too bad it won’t be hanging around though.

      Like

  5. That is some wind you are having…I don’t envy you. But I love the feeling it gives when I hear the wind howl and I am safely in a warm home.

    That is a glorious shot of the mockingbird.

    Definitely need to get your party on! It is hard to go two weeks without seeing our granddaughter. Which thankfully we don’t have to go over that now that they live near. Seen her last week, and they are coming by after while…life is good.

    Like

    • Only a few small branches came off the oak with the wind this time. Hubby had some pruning done on it some time ago, and was told it’s dying back. We’re hoping it will hold on for a long time, I can’t imagine our yard without that big old tree. Thanks! I think the Mockingbird was frozen in place. 😉 I’m so glad your granddaughter is close by. Sometimes I wish I was close enough to invite ours over to bake cookies, etc. They grow up so fast.

      Like

  6. We are also glad Virginia Beach did not fare bad with snow too. That mocking bird is beautiful!
    Hope you get to see your granddaughter soon. The sunset from the CBBT takes your breath. I certainly would not want to be on the bridge in any kind of bad weather!

    Like

    • I’m glad you didn’t get too much snow. I’m thankful hubby didn’t have to shovel it this time. Last year the snow plows piled it up across the driveway, and it was icy and hard to remove. Thank you. No, 17 miles on the CBBT in bad weather would make for a long haul!

      Like

  7. You have become an expert with your camera, Patti. I had to go back twice to gaze at the beauty of your photos. Gotta tell ya though, I’m so glad I live in Florida.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Everyday we are a bit closer to spring! Yippee! Squirrels have taken over here so they have become my favorite “bird”. We have missed too many birthdays, but I love getting pictures! I hope neither of us gets the snow from out East!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Squirrel birds–sounds about right! My massage therapist told me it was only 50+ days until spring. We decided that’s doable! Three of our grandkids have January birthdays, and we never seem to be able to get up there with year-end work, etc. I’m in Virginia Beach, about as far east as one can get. The heavier snow fell to the west and north of us. The Atlantic to the east and Chesapeake Bay to the north tend to buffer us, depending on which way the weather patterns unfold.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

