Share Your World–2016 Week 3

Share Your World

Here are Cee’s questions for this third week of January. You can create a blog post and link to Cee’s blog–everyone is welcome to play along! Or you may leave your replies in the comment section. Either way, you must answer the questions! Pleeeease? Thank your for your cooperation participation. 😉 

What is your favorite piece of art? (It doesn’t have to be famous.)
I have so many favorite pieces of art…from my daughter, from the grandchildren, from family members. Some were drawn with pencil, crayons, etc.; some were digitally designed; others wrought on knitting needles and crochet hooks. One tiny treasure is a clay “pinch pot” my daughter made in kindergarten.


IMG_2297

What made you smile today?
I had an item to return (and since it’s a holiday with clearance sales abounding) I went to the mall to get in my 10,000 steps. Three little girls, maybe six- or seven-years of age, were fascinated by the fountain where a stream of water shoots out of one hole and disappears in another. They made me smile, the sale prices made me smile, and I got in all my steps–making for a smile-filled day.

Which place do you recommend as a must-see? Please state which country, state or providence.
I’m partial to our state parks and wildlife refuges here in Virginia. From the mountains to the seashore, there’s something for everyone.

Complete this sentence: When I was younger I used to….
bite my nails.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m grateful to have celebrated a dear friend’s 80th birthday this past weekend, and look forward to the first writers group meeting of 2016 this week. And Miss Z’s fifth birthday is this weekend!

share-your-world2

38 thoughts on “Share Your World–2016 Week 3

  1. Pieces of art from my children would be my favorites, or maybe some from Lorelei. A child is what brought on a smile from me today, too…she was just too cute. I have only been in the very southwest corner of Virginia, and it is one of the most beautiful spots on earth. (Next to Tennessee, of course.LOL)

    Like

    • Thanks! I thought it was really sweet that their class got to make these. The year before, they did the child’s handprint in plaster of Paris as a gift for the parents. One year, their teacher had them make a Thanksgiving wreath using multiples of their handprint as turkeys. My daughter thought the world of our neighbors, so she gave hers to them. A few years later when purging their house of its contents, my neighbor returned the wreath to me. I didn’t even know she’d given it to them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1. A snow scene painting in my Drawing room done by me.
    2. It is 5.30 am and I have not smiled today yet but I know I will later on when I am playing badminton!
    3. Now this is very difficult for me as I have travelled a lot however Ireland is a place that everyone should see.
    4. When I was younger I was 2 stone lighter and TOO thin!
    5. Accomplishing so many little jobs and looking forward to going to Costa Rica next week for a birding holiday.

    Like

    • I didn’t know you paint, Margaret. Will you share it with us sometime? I haven’t played badminton in a long time, I always enjoyed it. Played some with the grandkids, maybe I’ll have to get them interested. Everyone I know who has been there says that about Ireland. Costa Rica! How exciting! There should be lots of birds waiting for you there, and I can’t wait to see them.

      Like

  3. My favorite piece of art is actually all the photographs of my family scattered throughout my home. As always, my sweet grandbaby made me smile today and laugh too! A must-see place? There are SO MANY! When I was younger I used to dream of being famous. And finally, I’m grateful for sunshine today after some dreary days lately. 🙂

    Like

  4. your shopping trip made me smile tooooooooo… I love people watching.. that little pot is really a piece of art. would not know a child made it and i love what it is in and how it is displayed. i have a statue my son gave me, that might count as art. my walls have only my framed photos on them,

    Like

    • I couldn’t find a good vantage point to people-watch at the mall. My niece has her husband’s B&W photography framed in the living room. I never had good enough photos to hang. I’ll bet yours are colorful.

      Like

  5. I cherish two pieces of art, a ceramic bear crafted by my son Ray in grade school, and a ceramic cup made by my granddaughter Samantha in high school. My first smile of the day occurred as I smelled our morning coffee brewing. Orlando, Florida, is a beautiful place, and there truly is something special about Tennessee. When I was younger I used to hunt for four leaf clover.

    Like

  6. 1. A multi-colored clay pot that belonged to my Grandmother.
    2. 16 cardinals sitting in my crepe myrtle bush.
    3. Lake Louise in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
    4. When I was younger, I use to love to ride bikes up and down our street.
    5. I was grateful for helping my husband celebrate another birthday and look forward to seeing some more snow.

    Like

  7. I love the pinch pot your daughter made. My daughter is a professional potter so my house is filed with her pieces. I love them all but I think my favourite is am amphora she made in collage. (wish I could add a picture)
    The sun made me smile but it always does.
    Gaudi´s Sagrada Familia Bascilica in Barcelona is a must see.
    When I was younger I used to daydream a lot
    I am thankful for being married to a wonderful man for 39 years.

    Like

  8. Patti, I love how the arrangement you made goes with the pinch pot and the backdrop. It matches the colors of your blog theme perfectly. Our children’s art is the best—isn’t it? 🙂 I’m curious what your cure for nail biting was, as I know someone who would love to stop biting hers.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The background is a piece of scrapbook paper I bought to make a card for a friend. I guess those are my favorite colors, so they show up everywhere!
      I don’t remember when I stopped biting my nails, but it might have been through peer pressure–in a positive light.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

