Willy Nilly Friday 5 #61

Willy Nilly Friday 5

1. For her birthday, our granddaughter requested something to make waffles. We got her one of these, since they are a family of nine. (Click the image for info.) It was a hit and the house smelled of waffles all weekend–but I’m not sure that’s a good thing! 15364117628135p

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. The weather forecast predicted below-freezing temperatures overnight, so I wasn’t sure what we were getting ourselves into! It warmed up nicely during the day, so it worked out, after all. I got a text that our area at home had a frost warning–and I remembered I’d left the potted daisy plants outside. 

3. We came home to see the neighbors planted hedges along part of the property line–and had pruned the large azalea–too late in the season for that as they bloom on the previous year’s growth. They had also cleaned up the bed I’d neglected on our side of the property line. That was a blessing, as I’d considered moving the irises and catmint, and planting something different in there. However, three catmint plants and the irises are gone.

Walker's Low Catmint

Walker’s Low Catmint

Bearded Iris

4. Karen walks 5-6 miles nearly every day. She inspired me to order weather-proof jacket and pants so I can take back those not-too-cold rainy days that keep me indoors on the treadmill. 

5. Not a very good photo, but I can’t help but smile to find a Carolina Wren tucked up inside the awning at night. 

IMG_2065

Carolina Wren tucked in for the night.

Linking to Willy Nilly Friday 5

15 thoughts on “Willy Nilly Friday 5 #61

  1. that wren is so sweet, and oh yum on the waffles… i had one when my kids were small, they are 48 and 50 now so that was a while ago. i would be upset if someone touched anything on our property. really upset.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They just moved in this summer, and that bed lies adjacent to their yard–no fence in that area. It was a mess and I assume they thought it was their responsibility. The edging degraded and hubby wants to fix that. I shall consider they did me a favor.

      Like

  2. Oh, I am so envious of your Carolina wren…they are my favorite bird of all…I love a bunch of them but it has my heart. And, yes, made me think twice seeing this today.

    Like

  3. i like that waffle iron…espcially since you can remove the plates to wash…my waffle iron doesn’t do that and cleaning it is a pain! the wren is cute! thank you for linking and willy nilly is up and ready for this week now…sorry i’m running late!! have a great day 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

