Willy Nilly Friday 5 #59

Willy Nilly Friday 5

1. Yesterday I shared a photo from Mirror Lake (at the botanical garden). Here’s another one from that area.

Mirror Lake

Mirror Lake

2. After Mirror Lake I walked to the Enchanted Garden, but felt some of the enchantment was missing. Then I saw this!

Rhododendron blossom

Rhododendron blossom

3. Here’s a fun project at the garden this year–frames mounted near scenic views, prompting participants to shoot and share their photos. Pictured is the Japanese Garden.

IMG_1964

4. Two more unexpected blossoms, and I liked the tangle of branches here.

IMG_2015

5. As I headed out of the garden, I saw a pair of sun dogs (parhelia–a bright spot in the sky appearing on either side of the sun, formed by refraction of sunlight through ice crystals high in the earth’s atmosphere).

IMG_2021

That’s all the randomness for this week. Linking to:

Skywatch Friday and

willnilly_zps3e671d87

43 thoughts on “Willy Nilly Friday 5 #59

    • It is a delightful place to walk. I learned of sun dogs through someone else’s blog, so they are fairly new to me. I hadn’t heard them called sunbows. So much I don’t know!

      Like

    • #1, this is true! I didn’t know what those were called. Thanks! Blogging has turned into an educational experience for me. “They” say to keep learning! #2 It was a wonderful surprise. #4 I have to agree with jungle! #5, I only learned about them since I’ve been blogging, so I continue to share the wealth of knowledge! Have a great week!

      Like

    • Our botanical garden bursts with color and fragrance of these in the spring. There are a lot of old-growth rhodies, higher than my head. It is a sight to behold. The frame project was interesting, different styles were spread throughout the gardens.

      Like

  1. I saw a sundog the other day, too, and have seen them on others’ blogs. I like they way they did the framing at that garden. Oh, and I bet that lake was a sight to see earlier…looks like it might have had lots of lily pads.

    Like

    • Sun dogs are fairly new to me, I learned of them on someone’s blog. The frames are a fun photo op. I hadn’t paid much attention to them, as my photo attempt earlier in the year hadn’t turned out well. The light was just right this day. I hadn’t been around Mirror Lake since my first visit there. I’ll have to pay more attention next year to see what it does.

      Like

  2. I love sun dogs…unexpected color in the sky. The frame idea in the garden is clever…always enjoy randomness…I think my mind works best that way! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Like

  3. You have a knack for finding the fascinating hidden in the mundane. I love the Rhodie in full bloom, the little blossoms in the tangled mass, and of course the picture frame idea is wonderful. 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

