Voices

I write for my church’s website and don’t usually share my devotional writing on my blog. With all that’s going on with our HVAC installation this week, I requested they pull one from the archives. As I read the selection this morning, some of it really hit home, I even questioned, “I wrote this?” Maybe someone else needs to hear this today. 

IMG_1933

Voices

Low self-esteem and humility are not the same thing. Low self-esteem is a lack of confidence in one’s worth or abilities; humility is a low view of one’s own importance.

Do you have a voice in your head that berates and belittles your actions, or what it deems infractions?

  • How could I have been so dumb/foolish/stupid/crazy?
  • Maybe I was a mistake.
  • Why can’t I get it right?
  • You think you’re a writer/musician/speaker/parent?
  • How can God love me?

You know who is behind this negative talk, don’t you?

He (the devil) was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies. John 8:44

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I (Jesus) have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. John 10:10

The Holy Spirit convicts me for believing these things that are contrary to what God says about me. It certainly doesn’t bring glory to God. I degrade and defeat myself at every turn. That doesn’t sound like a person full of joy and light, does it?

This is what God’s voice says:

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name, you are mine.

 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
and the flame shall not consume you.

For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. Isaiah 43:1-3

God says, “You are mine.” This is why we need to make time to read our Bible and get in some face time with Him—so we know His voice and heed it.

The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. John 10:3-4

Be kind, not only to one another, but to yourself.

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

Linking to Water World Wednesday

25 thoughts on “Voices

  1. This is a good reminder. I often get hung up on my failures and wonder why God would even love me. Or that I am such a mess, I can’t be good for anything. In those times I don’t think about God’s history. He often chose the unlikely people to speak of God’s love and grace. Paul is a good example of these. He went from persecutor to disciple.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful image! And …we can conquer everything through Christ! Self-esteem is not a static thing. It is also influenced by circumstances, how others treat us, our finances, etc. And we conquer by worshiping Him, because that is (should be) the center of our lives.

    Like

  3. Thank you, Patti, for reminding us the Lord always loves us and is there for us if we let him. We get so involved in life some times we forget WHO holds us in HIS HANDS.

    Like

  4. Thank you for this post. I know you don’t share these things often
    on your post but when I read the comments that you got so far, perhaps you should rethink. Ask The Lord what He wants you to do. That is the only way you will get it right. The Lord asked me to share part of His Word on Sundays. I thought after a while I would dry up with photographs to illustrate His Word however, He always inspires me and I find another one to hopefully inspire others. Now I know not everyone wants to hear that Sunday Thought, but that is not my problem. It is up to the Holy Spirit to use His Word to convict others. Perhaps you should ask The Lord if should you devote Sundays to sharing what you have written with other and the world? Just a thought. it is always good to be reminded how much God loves us.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i enjoyed this read and wondered as i read, why you questioned that you wrote it. perhaps i misunderstood. i believe that everything is a miracle but i do not believe in organized religion. i have a very personal voice that guides me and i am so happy with who i am and what i do believe in. we all need that, whatever brings you comfort!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was written a year ago, but was like a fresh message. It was almost like reading someone else’s writing.
      I can certainly understand your thoughts on organized religion, the church in general has suffered much disgrace. Humans are fallible. I take comfort in Psalm 103, “For He knows our frame, He remembers that we are dust…and His mercy is everlasting.”
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, I appreciate your thoughts on this.

      Like

  6. Oh yes, the devil always there to tempt me in my weaknesses and my strength as well. I sometimes do say “I am nothing” geez…and sometimes I tend to hang in those words, whew!! God forgive me!

    Thank you in linking Water World Wednesday. I do appreciate it and see you next week!
    Kim,USA

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

