Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday

I sat, pondering a post for Thursday. I haven’t been out for fence pictures, so there are no Good Fences to blog about. 

There is always something for which to be thankful, and tonight, it’s peripheral vision.

The slightest movement got my attention. I turned my head and caught a glimpse of a medium-sized spider as it slipped behind the blanket rack. I bypassed the camera and went straight for a disposable Dixie cup and a thin-but-sturdy piece of paper from the recycle bin. There was NO WAY I was going to squish a spider that size! With sleight of hand the cup covered all eight of those hairy legs, slipped the paper between the cup and the wall, and promptly showed the unwelcome visitor the front door. I may enter and exit via the back door tomorrow. 

What do you have to be thankful for today? Have any close encounters lately?

18 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. I am with you on squishing spiders. Nope…but you know how much I appreciate their webs 🙂 Today I am thankful for many things but the much needed rain that is flowing over the next few days is a welcome sight! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. I don’t kill spiders, except those light colored ones…they are a sort of greenish/yellowish/creamy color. I cannot stand them. I don’t necessarily want the others on me, but figure they do a lot of good as far as flies, mosquitoes, etc. Oh, and I would kill a brown recluse if I saw one, and a black widow if it were in my house. Otherwise, I left them alone when a kid.

    Like

  3. i use a long fly swat unless the spider is to big and i am afraid it will jump on me. then i yell BBOOOBBBB really loud and he steps on it. do the same thing for mice or rats or other things i would rather not deal with.

    Like

  4. Spiders and I really don’t go together. Enjoyed a nice potato dinner last night at our church and a peaceful rainy day with my hubby today. Have a good time time with your grand kids.

    Like

  5. Glad you survived your spider encounter! I kill a lot of spiders in our house, but they can be scary sometimes, especially when they evade capture-I don’t want the spiders to get me before I get them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I don’t like those little jumpy ones, or ones that disappear but you know they’re lurking. Last night while brushing my teeth I spied one in the corner behind me, thanks to the mirror. Creepy! That one was sent out to find Nemo via the plumbing.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

