Wild Bird Wednesday 157–Carolina Wren

Wild Bird Wednesday 

Sharing one of our Carolina Wrens today. I had to chuckle when I read its description at http://www.allaboutbirds.org 

“This shy bird can be hard to see, but it delivers an amazing number of decibels for its size.”

Anyone familiar with these birds knows this to be a true statement. They command a fair amount of respect from the other birds. Most are happy to clear a space when one shows up at the feeder. 

Carolina Wren

Carolina Wren–it certainly looks like it means business!

Thanks, Stewart, for hosting Wild Bird Wednesday. It’s fun, and a learning experience all rolled into one. All are welcome to link up their bird posts. Click the blue link to check it out. 

25 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday 157–Carolina Wren

  1. They are my favorite birds, and I only hear one occasionally here. But we had them at home, and they always built nests on our porches. We would be sitting in the porch swing and they would land on the chain right above our heads. And my dad was crippled and would sit out side with feet up, and every now and then one would perch on his foot.

    I tell this tale to everyone….our back porch was screened in. The door to the kitchen was between the kitchen and the porch, but the screen door part was on the screened in part. So we would have the inside door open. Now, there was a hole in the screen just big enough for the wrens to get in…and they built nests out there two or three years that I remember, maybe more that I don’t.

    But the point of my story is my mom had cut herself a piece of cake and was getting ready to sit down and have a snack and the phone rang or something that made her leave the room. When she came back, one of the wrens was sitting on her plate, eating her cake!

    Like

    • I love that story, Rose! Thank you for sharing it with me. Sorry it took me so long to get back and reply, we were out of town for the weekend, and the days before and after are always so busy.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

