Five Photos, Five Stories–Day Five

Five Photos, Five Stories–Day Five
Wild Bird Wednesday–Pileated Woodpecker

Close-up

Close-up. Love that red cap!

 

DSCN2386

Pileated Woodpecker

The Pileated Woodpeckers play hard-to-get, and I’ve been the loser. Until now!

A couple years ago (maybe longer–time flies!) I took a morning stroll through the neighborhood. This was before I carried my camera everywhere, and the reason I currently do. That morning, I heard pounding in a tree next to the sidewalk and looked up to see TWO Pileated Woodpeckers drilling away on a pine tree. I didn’t even know we had these birds in our area. 

On my last two visits to the botanical garden, I caught a glimpse of one, but it was too fast for me. They don’t hang around long when being chased by the paparazzi. 

I saw at least two on a recent trip to the local state park, but once again, when I downloaded the pictures, they were not to be found in them. Drat! A couple days later, hubby and I went there again. This time, the woodpecker was more intent on what it was doing than on what we were doing. I took a lot of shots, but only got a couple worth sharing. But that works for me! 

The Pileated Woodpecker is a large bird, about the size of the American Crow. Here’s more info: http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Pileated_Woodpecker/id
Be sure to check out the voice recording. You’ll certainly know when they are around! 

This is my last Five Photos, Five Stories post. Today, I nominate Susan from  Coming East. I know she has some wonderful photos, and lots of great stories to go with them. Here are the rules:  1) To post a photo a day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo.  It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph. And 2) each day, nominate another blogger for the challenge.

 

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday

33 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories–Day Five

  1. I remember when it showed up the last time. I’m glad you were fast enough to catch it this time! They are beautiful but you sure don’t see them much.

    Nancy

    Like

  2. I got excited when I saw a pileated woodpecker. My husband and I spotted one while on vacation in Ocala National Forest in Florida back in probably 1991. We didn’t have a camera with us. You really take great photos, Patti! This one is fabulous. The pilieated woodpecker fascinated me so much that I made it a character in my novel. Without the piliated woodpecker, the boy in the story would not have been rescued. Blessings…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Carol Ann. I still haven’t gotten to your book, and I feel so badly about that. I am working more reading (outside of blogs) into my day, so maybe soon!

      Like

    • They are huge. We saw one flying (what a gorgeous sight!) at the botanical garden yesterday. It disappeared into the trees, so, no photographs. Again. Maybe next time!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

