Willy Nilly Friday 5 #45

Willy Nilly Friday 5

1. I checked out a new (to me) trail at First Landing State Park today. When I arrived at the boat-launch parking lot, I followed a narrow, meandering  path along the water to see what I could see. This is what I found:

IMG_0989

I could have stayed on the road and ended up in this parking lot. Oh, well, where’s the fun in that!

2. Saw this amazing cloud on the way to my daughter’s last week. The sun was setting and I couldn’t look, so I pointed the cell phone out the window and snapped–that explains the wonky angle. At least, I hope it does. 

IMG_0939

3. Is it odd that I have to look at my photos to see what I did this week? 

4. The Asiatic Lily waited until I got home to bloom. I was afraid I’d miss it.

DSCN2353

5. We have a railroad excursion with a steam locomotive coming up this summer. 

Also linking to Skywatch Friday

 

37 thoughts on “Willy Nilly Friday 5 #45

  1. Gorgeous lily!!! And love the clouds. Was amazed that you didn’t see the First Landing Cross (erected in 1935 to commemorate the first landing of the Jamestowne settlers where they erected a cross and knelt to pray in Thanksgiving for their arrival before they went further up the James R to Jamestowne) and the Cape Henry Lighthouse, the first structure built by the new U.S.–1791! (You can go up inside it) I was so disappointed to see that goofy kayak renting bus! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The cross and lighthouse are on the Chesapeake Bay side of Shore Drive, and I’ve never been to either of those. We need to be tourists in our own area! For awhile, there were restrictions since the lighthouses are on/near Fort Story and with national security issues. I always thought it would be nice to attend the Easter sunrise service at the First Landing Cross–but it was too cold for us! The kayak rentals were on the very south side of the park, near the 64th St. entrance.

      Like

  2. lovely collection of moments – the water, the sky, the flower. good that your week brought so many moments that you had check with your photos to revisit it in all its different shapes and colors. have a lovely weekend~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The lily is fabulous! So pleased it waited for you to enjoy it. I love the wonky angle and the clouds are amazing. I often have to look at my pictures too to see what I have been doing. Have a great weekend. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting cloud formation. I can see why you took the trouble to snap it into your collection. Beautiful flower of your own, and a bus or makeshift building, or whatever comes into the imagination, parked near a beautiful view of the water and, oh yes, a fence of a sort. Willy Nilly Friday is a fun spot to visit. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

    • Thanks! I can’t pass an opportunity to photograph something as spectacular as that cloud. The lily is blooming like crazy, I’ll have to get more photos before they’re gone. Enjoy your weekend, Geraldine.

      Like

  5. I agree exploring the trail was would be more fun then just driving into the parking lot.
    Awesome cloud shot.
    I think because we do take photos that it’s a great way to “remember” what we did during the week.
    Gorgeous Lily.
    The train trip sounds like fun.

    Like

  6. the 611 caused quite a commotion when it rolled into town…i missed it, the boys had a baseball game but many of my friends posted pictures on facebook…wish i could have seen it…we were downtown yesterday and met an older gentleman from new orleans who came up just to see it, he had ridden on it years back…i pinned that state park for next time we are in the area! thanks for linking and have a great week!!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

