Good Fences #62

Good Fences #62

Black Vulture

Black Vulture

I spotted this Black Vulture, with half-dozen or so family members, working on a deer carcass at the side of the road. They moved away when I stopped; this one perched on a fence post. Visions of Good Fences flashed through my head as I whipped out my cell phone. 

Brown-headed Cowbird juvenile

Brown-headed Cowbird juvenile

This is my new gardening buddy (in case you didn’t see it on my Facebook page). When I stepped outside to move the hose to water another area, the birds scattered–except for this one. It was still sitting on the platform feeder as I walked by. I continued across the yard, moved the hose, and as I repositioned it, I noticed this bird had followed me! Of course, I didn’t have my camera, not even my phone! So I went back inside, got my phone, and returned to where I’d last seen it. I stood there a moment, and there it was, walking toward me. So, like any responsible birdwatcher, I took its picture. Hubby said the Song Sparrow was feeding it last week while I was away. Now, it is on its own, but it approaches various birds as they visit the yard as if looking for its family. (Cowbirds lay their eggs in the nests of other birds and leave.)

good fences

29 thoughts on “Good Fences #62

  1. Cowbirds sure are interesting creatures. I wonder why they lay their eggs in other birds nest. And its not even afraid of humans. Thats a bit strange but who doesnt love a bird that follows you 😃

    Like

    • I think it’s too young to know to be afraid yet, though some of the adult ones will hang around the feeder when we’re outside. For whatever reason, they don’t build their own nest, just drop off an egg here and there.

      Like

    • I’ll adopt that little birdie! 😉 It seems to know where the food is and eats well. I wish I could have gotten the whole flock of vultures–that would have been impressive! I’ll have to try that route home again–there was an emu (I think) in a field. I was so taken with it, I missed my turn-off! Had a car in a hurry behind me, too…

      Like

    • It may have been the photographer that made it look weird. 😉 Hiked today, but my spare camera battery was in the bag–at home! Now I HAVE to go back and look for the Pileated Woodpeckers I saw after the battery died.

      Like

  2. Dear Patti,
    I assume you could tell that Cowbird was a juvenile by it’s immature behavior. Probably texting other teenage cowbirds and hanging out in questionable flocks. Hopefully, it’s just a stage and the bird will grow up to be productive adult and contribute to the overall good of the species.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish I’d gotten a photo of the entire vulture “family” that was dining out, but they didn’t like me being around. I was so surprised at that little cowbird, the last thing I expected was for it to follow me around the yard! Maybe it figured out where the food comes from. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I have read that strange phenomenon about cowbirds before. How strange to abandon their eggs for another bird to raise. How sweet that other birds are willing to take in the orphaned eggs. Great post, and I think I did see it on FB.

    Here is another funny thing. Today you feature a vulture that will eat anything dead and an orphan begging for food to live, an innocent victim, and a prospective villain waiting for its next meal to die. Just sayin’… Blessings to you, Patti…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Willy Nilly Friday 5 #47 | A New Day Dawns

Please share your thoughts.

