Willy-Nilly Friday 5

Willy-Nilly Friday 5
inspired by Norfolk Botanical Garden

1. The Fitbit fitness tracker keeps me motivated. I love getting out and walking–nice, long walks. It’s addictive! And such a beautiful time of year with all the flowers and gardens coming to life. Everything is so green!

Fringe Tree

Fringe Tree

2. I watched an odd-looking butterfly wend and wobble through the air across the path from flower bed to tree branch. Once it alit, I realized it was not one, but two, Monarchs. No privacy from the paparazzi. 

Monarch butterflies

Monarch butterflies

3. There were azaleas:

Florida azalea

Florida azalea

DSCN2165 (2)

Unknown variety

DSCN2179 (4)

Unknown variety

 

4. Last fall, as I wandered through the various gardens, I tried to envision how it would look when all the rhododendron bloomed. The small screen of my mind couldn’t come close to the real-life experience. And the fragrance! Not over-powering, but a mild sweetness that I want to memorize until they bloom again next year.

Mounding higher than my head...

Mounding higher than my head…

...ethereal beauty

…ethereal beauties…

...to vibrant, lining the path.

…to vibrant, lining both sides of the path.

5. And my favorite find…

...a bunny!

…a bunny!

Thanks for coming along with me!

willnilly_zps3e671d87

 

31 thoughts on “Willy-Nilly Friday 5

  1. I went to Ginter yesterday and not surprisingly, got many of the same types of shots! Not the bunny though. It was a beautiful day to be outside. Today, not as much.

    Nancy

    Like

  2. love that bunny rabbit and i would love to walk to in all that beauty, but would not get much walking done from stopping to snap snap snap…. mother had azaleas taller than our heads, beautiful just like theses

    Like

  3. What a walk! So colorful and your photography is wonderful. I love the shot of the two butterflies at work so close together. And ending with the bunny, this post features the very best of spring! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had a yard-bunny visitor earlier, but it’s been awhile since I’ve seen any here–except for one I saw when I was out walking that had a run-in with a car. I wish I could protect them all.

      Like

  4. Beautiful photos, Patti.
    Connie and I visited the Missouri Botanical Garden a few years ago. 78 acres was a lot to cover in one day (she wore me out). This is a great time of year for blooms. I’ve been to the Norfolk area a couple of times on business and went to the Nauticus Maritime Museum in 2003. That entire area is area is beautiful. I’d like to take Connie there on vacation some time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patti, what a great walk. I am hearing more and more people are using the Fitbit. Do you find you are walking more often now? I love the beautiful blossoms and the cute bunny.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love walking as well. I have a Jawbone Up and when I forget to put it back on after washing the dishes or having a shower. I feel naked. The other day when I went to visit my daughter in Hamilton I forgot my Up. We went for a long walk so I tracked it on Google maps but the Up couldn’t convert the mileage into steps so it showed that I only walked a mere 1000 steps when I was probably much closer to 10 000.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

