Random 5 Friday

Random 5 Friday

Here are my five random thoughts for this week:

1. The male and female Red-bellied Woodpeckers showed up at the same time this week! I usually see one or the other. Though we’ve had them visit in previous years, I’ve never seen young ones. Maybe that will change this year. 

Red-bellied Woodpecker, female

Red-bellied Woodpecker, female

DSCN1911

Red-bellied Woodpecker, male

2. The squirrels are demanding equal time.

Gray squirrel

Gray squirrel

3. The first day of spring brought rain and fog. This evening, wind gusts rattle the window. 

4. I stopped by Hancock Fabrics for Fray Check (the last bottle had dried out) and found myself a party dress. Ok, it’s not quite my size, but Miss B, our Little Red, has an April birthday. Can’t wait to see her in it.

IMG_0684

5. I have chocolate almond ground coffee that isn’t as good as I’d hoped. I keep trying flavored syrups and creamers to “fix” it, but it’s still not palatable. Yesterday I discovered Bailey’s Toffee Almond Creamer at the store. It is so good, I’m not sure I want to ruin it with coffee. 

Thanks for hosting, Nancy, at A Rural Journal
Click the link above to read randomness from others.

8616512946_a8c5cf857d_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

61 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. Adorable little party dress! Funny you mentioned young woodpeckers: I was talking with a friend last night and saying that, for all the years we’ve had Mallards around, I’ve never seen a duckling…! (I’ve found plenty of broken eggs, though, which makes me sad.)

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing in my humor, Sandra. It took me 50+ years to find coffee I liked. 😉 Now there are so many products to add to it–the variety is endless. That little dress brightened my day.

      Like

    • I love those Red-bellied Woodpeckers. They let me know when they arrive, or when they’re in the tree waiting for me to go back in the house! I feel like I’ve been scolded.

      Like

  2. The party dress is adorable and I bet it will look precious on. Even if it is not on you. 🙂 I can identify with the disappointment in coffee flavor. Chris brought some back from Puerto Rico and I thought it was going to be so fabulous. It was lackluster at best.

    Like

  3. Mmmmm, the creamer sounds delicious! My sister has a red-bellied woodpecker in her backyard. They are so cute! I got a photo of a red-shouldered hawk in my yard a few weeks ago. It made me think of you! I had to stalk my backyard with the camera. Loved it. Lol.

    Like

  4. Here’s hoping your woodpeckers do have babies this Spring, that would wonderful! That dress is precious! Great find!!!!

    Like

  5. Pingback: A Late Winter Walk | Living The Seasons

    • I know what you mean about trying to find a flavor that sticks. I have a chocolate hazelnut one from Wegman’s that is my favorite, but I always seem to be looking for variety. I want my own personal Starbucks at home without the sugar and cost. 🙂

      Like

  6. We had a baby Red-Bellied at our small feeder near our wine time place under the oaks last year. I am here to tell you… they are the biggest babies in every way. Big in size, big in begging, and big at woeful crying 😀

    Like

  7. Red-bellied woodpeckers are such wonderful characters! I LOVE them. The little dress is so sweet. I hope you take a photo of Miss B wearing it! I laughed out loud when you said you tasted the Bailey’s Toffee Almond Creamer and now don’t want to spoil it with coffee. 😉

    Like

    • Yay! Another Red-bellied fan! I’m glad you sensed the humor in the coffee statement. 🙂 I shook the creamer, peeled off the foil seal, then boldly licked it. I seriously could have stuck a straw in the bottle at that point!

      Like

  8. We used to see 1 or 2 of those giant woodpeckers quite a lot. I think I saw a baby once, but it flew off so quickly that I never knew for sure. I love them, so long as they don’t destroy our beautiful tree! They do love stripping it, and the cows like eating it’s leaves after a good rain.

    Like

  9. Gosh, what stunning woodpecker shots. They look amazing. We have a greater spotted woodpecker who stops by our garden in London from time to time. Your party dress looks amazing. All the best for now, Bonny

    Like

      • It’s a beautiful bird. The black and white spots reminds me of our Downy and Hairy woodpeckers, but the Great Spotted has more red, and more black markings around the head. Thanks!

        Like

  10. my spring/summer birds are starting to return “home”!!! i don’t drink coffee but i love coffee flavored desserts and ice cream!!!!

    Like

    • I mostly see Starlings lately when I look out the window. I agree with coffee-flavored desserts and such. Yum. My coffee is more like coffee-flavored milk (latte)! My mom said I used to drink the last of the coffee left in everyone’s cup when I was small. My granddad’s was the best–he always added cream.

      Like

    • Hi Merle! I wish the weather would warm a bit more, can’t wait to get back to the NBG! There was one warm day, but it was right after reopening after the plane went down. I just didn’t want to go that day. What have you been working on?

      Like

  11. Woodpeckers!!! I so love them! AND – this time of year – we can hear Bird Songs of all kinds again . . oooh, some kind of wonder.

    Like

    • I agree, love hearing all the singing. Our mocking bird serenaded us from atop the azalea one morning. We exited the front door, but he didn’t miss a beat, just kept right on singing.

      Like

  12. Stunning photos of the woodpeckers..I have some granddaughters that would love the dress..That creamer sounds really good.. and you young lady are the first at the soul lane. You deserve a gold star or something.. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

