Share Your World–2015 Week 10

Share Your World

If you’re new to Share Your World, Cee asks four questions plus a bonus each week. Participants create a post with their answers and post the link to it on her page. Anyone can join. If you don’t wish to create a post, you may leave your answers in the comments section below. I like to get to know my readers, and see what we have in common–or not. 

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?
Fortunately, we don’t lose power very often. Our lines are underground, and we live near a Fire Dept./Rescue Squad. There used to be a hospital on the same grid, making it a priority for service. I like candles, but would only light them where attended–but probably not during a high-wind event.  We have battery powered lights and lanterns for when the power does go off.

You are given $5,000 and the chance to exchange it for one of two envelopes. One envelope contains $50,000 and one contains $500. Do you make the trade? Why or why not?
I would keep the $5,000. $50,000 would be nice, but I wouldn’t want to risk losing $4,500.

What’s your first memory?
Not sure if this is the first, but it is what came to mind. I wanted a dog, but my dad raised chickens, so he decided I could have a cat. I remember the (adult) cousin who gave it to me. I can still see him bent down on one knee (to my level) on my parents’ back porch, in a red plaid (flannel?) shirt, with his big chaw of tobacco in his cheek. I didn’t know anyone else who chewed tobacco like that.

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep, toss and turn, or get up and try to do something?
I’m usually asleep when my head hits the pillow. Unless I had a caffeinated beverage too late–then I stay up until I’m sleepy.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m thankful we were able to help three different neighbors last week for one reason or another. Blessed to be a blessing!
I’m looking forward to celebrating our daughter’s belated birthday.

9 thoughts on “Share Your World–2015 Week 10

  1. Loved reading the questions and answers.
    1. Flask light, then candles
    2. 50,000. As I started out with nothing, I would always gain at least 500 but with a 50% chance of the larger amount, I could help so many more people.
    3. Can’t remember.
    4. Try a variety of things.
    5. My Cholesterol was down to the lowest it has ever been. Several years ago it was off the Rickter scale!
    My 1 st grand daughter will be 15 and grown up into a beautiful young woman.

    Like

  2. so glad you were able to help folks in need. 🙂 i have flashlights and a battery light, but i also have candles to retrieve if i really need them. i’d keep the $5k, too. too conservative, i guess.

    Like

  3. 1) We have many fully charged flashlights in every room of the house. Still, the lights never seem to go out. But IF they do, we are prepared. 2) I’d keep the money in my hand. 3) I can’t think of my first memory. My last memory is more accessible, but even that seems remote. Uh… I do have some cherished memories. 4) I like your answer on the sleep question. (All your answers are good, of course.) I find lying awake until I sleep works for me. Twiddle my thumbs, la la la…

    Like

  4. Hi Patti!
    We have battery powered lanterns but our electricity hardly ever goes off. Now internet… that’s another story.
    I’d be keeping that $5,000.
    My first memory? No way I could come up with a “first” memory but my earliest memories are being at my Grandad’s farm. There was an old well there, round where you let the bucket down and I remember riding the horses on the farm.
    I cruise the streets of blogville.. 🙂
    I am grateful for a new meal I found at Panera.. 🙂 I am also grateful for being back in your comments for SYW. And looking forward next week to going to St. Louis!

    Like

  5. We have flashlights throughout the house just in case. If we lose power, it’s usually during the summer monsoons. I think it would depend on my mood whether I’d risk the 5K… most days, I’d keep it, as I’m neither lucky, nor a gambler 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

