Random 5 Friday

Random 5 Friday

Here are my five random thoughts for this week:

1. The snow missed us last night! We had sleet and icy cold temperatures, but for the most part, roads were clear today. 50s forecast for this weekend.

2. Met hubby for lunch today. Yes, Panera.ย 

3. The Norfolk Botanical Garden reopened at 10:00 a.m. this morning. It closed for a couple of days after a small plane missed the runway at the neighboring airport in dense fog and landed in the Enchanted Forest.
http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/small-plane-crashes-botanical-garden-virginia-dead-29384149

4. I saw juvenile Red-winged Blackbirds in the flock that visited this week. I don’t remember seeing them before.

Sorry for the rough photo. It was raining, and droplets dappled my window.

Sorry for the rough photo. It was raining, and droplets dappled my window.

5. Tomorrow (3/7) is our daughter’s birthday. Happy birthday, Suzanne!

I can't help but wonder what these two were up to.

I can’t help but wonder what these two were up to.

8616512946_a8c5cf857d_o

Linking to Random 5 Friday at A Rural Journal

36 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

    • Thank you, Margaret. I think everyone was shocked about the plane going down in the botanical garden. Our weekend warmed up nicely! Hope your weekend was wonderful, too.

      Like

    • A foot of snow? Ugh. I feel for you, Rebecca. When I was a kid, it seemed like it snowed a lot and stayed until spring. Most of the time I get Panera’s Bistro Onion Soup, too. Occasionally, the vegetable with pesto wins. I had their new Power Almond Oatmeal with Quinoa and Honey for breakfast Saturday. I need to try to make that at home–it was wonderful!

      Like

    • Good morning, Pix! I am loving this snowless scenery! I had to got up EARLY, so we had breakfast at Panera today. I tried something new–Power Almond steel-cut oats with quinoa and honey. Yum!

      Like

  1. How do you identify a juvi that looks so different from the adult it’s going to be? I would love to see an adult red-winged blackbird.
    Happy Birthday to your daughter.
    mmm…Panera is the best.

    Like

  2. we did not see that crash yesterday.. there were several on the news, including Harrison ford crash.. what a place to die, in the enchanted forest…

    Like

    • The local news had this quote from a friend of the pilot, “We talked about living blessed lives and story book lives sometimes and for him to draw his last breath in the Enchanted Forest was kind of something like wow.”

      Like

  3. Apparently I’ve never seen juvenile red-winged blackbirds. They look nothing like their parents. Red-winged blackbirds are beautiful to see in flight. Glad to hear the snow passed you by. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

    • I doubt I would have been able to identify it if it hadn’t been in a flock, and I saw it sitting next to a female on the hanging basket holder. It was in the 60s today, so I got to explore the new park near us–without freezing to death! Blessings to you, Carol Ann.

      Like

    • Thankfully, the roads weren’t icy, except a few patches here and there. It is a delight to find and identify a new bird. If you get a chance to eat at a Panera, you should try it. It’s my favorite place to eat. Thanks, I’ll tell her!

      Like

    • Thanks for the birthday wishes, Barb, I’ll pass them along. I don’t think I’ve had Panera’s lemonade, I have a hard time passing up the iced Green Tea on a warm day. It was in the upper 60s today, and I enjoyed it thoroughly!

      Like

  4. Happy and Blessed Birthday to your daughter! The plane crash was a tragedy and so sorry for the 3 families. I love the pictures of the birds you take, just great.

    Like

    • Thank you, Shirley, I’ll pass your wishes along. That was so sad. They said the plane was intact, I hoped there would be good news. I enjoy trying to capture bird photos, thanks for letting me know you like them.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

