Rain Design mStand for Laptop

Meet my Rain Design mStand

IMG_0424

I’ve been searching for a stand for my laptop–so it’s not so much LAP time, but a little more STAND time. Besides, if I can type/read at the kitchen counter, I can keep an eye on backyard activity.

I experimented with boxes, trying to get the right height, then a lap desk with cushioning for the wrists. But they came up too flat. I needed something with a bit of slope to it.

That’s when I found the Rain mStand.

IMG_0426

It’s design allows the computer to sit at eye level on a desk. A separate keyboard would be needed for proper ergonomics. I was delighted to find it is perfect for standing at countertop height. In the first photo, you can see the cushion pads that keep the laptop from moving, and protect it from scratches. The mStand’s solid, one-piece construction is sturdy for typing.

Rain Design offers other computer solutions, too.

I ordered mine through Apple.com and opted for in-store pickup. It’s also available at Amazon.com. It’s not just for MacBooks, it will hold most 13-15″  laptops. More information is available on the Rain Design website.

19 thoughts on “Rain Design mStand for Laptop

  1. Good Morning Patti! I like this. I am a couch laptop user. On the couch, pillow behind me. Laptop on my stomach. Not a great setup. I am still looking for something that I could still be on the couch but get the heavy laptop off my stomach,so that is still my problem to solve. I swear I can’t do my best work (ha, best work!) anyplace else. So where I am going with this is a roundabout way of asking you how you like your Mac. I know you recently switched and I know they are lighter and super fun for picture taking peeps. I love the retina display. Could you maybe just do a small review when you have time. I am looking at the 15 inch MacBook Pro. I don’t do change well so my concern is the switch from my 15 inch Acer laptop to Apple. I am an iPhone and iPad user but I am still concerned about the switch. Oops, I just saw your reply to mrsbearfoot.

    Like

  2. this is perfect. i do standing at kitchen counter to rest my knee from sitting to long at the computer. i have a desk top with wide screen monitor for creating on and the 15 inch laptop for sitting in rocker or standing at counter. this is perfect. oops said that didn’t I… enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cool, Patti. Steve and I are checking out all options on how to find room for and manage two office areas in an RV. Maybe this laptop stand will be part of our future office strategy. Thank you for sharing! Blessings to you…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This looks like a great solution! My laptop on my lap gave me problems and I never found anything that worked just right either. I finally gave up, handed it off to hubby, and went back to writing on our desktop in our home office. For quick stuff, I use my mini ipad.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Willy Nilly Friday 5 | A New Day Dawns

Please share your thoughts.

