Saturday’s Critters #57

Saturday’s Critters 

Monday I filled feeders and before I could get back into the house, the pigeons took off with the sound of thunder. That usually means a predator is nearby. Sure enough, a hawk (I think it’s a young Cooper’s) alit in our neighbor’s tree. I went in for the camera, hoping the hawk would still be there when I returned.

DSCN1508

This is a look we don’t often see, the feathers fanned out.

DSCN1514

Curious, the hawk decided to get a closer look.

 

It flew across the yard, toward me, and perched in our oak.

It flew across the yard, toward me, and perched in our oak.

It pulled feathers in...

It pulled feathers in…

...spread them out again--looked over its shoulder to see if I was documenting...

…spread them out again–looked over its shoulder to see if I was documenting…

...and then I think I was mooned!

…and then I think I was mooned!

I got a dozen shots, repeating this behavior. Do you suppose this is the hawk version of twerking? I can’t believe I even typed that!
Have a great weekend!
Linking to Saturday’s Critters with Eileen
Linking to WATW

46 thoughts on “Saturday’s Critters #57

  1. Hello Patti, what an awesome series on the hawk.. I had to laugh over the being mooned comment.. Funny.. Great photos.. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post.. Have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the hawk is beautiful if only they didn’t like to attack small animals! You’re right, Patti, I think he was mooning you too! lol Wonderful pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic photos Patti, you have captured this beautiful hawk in such great detail, and I love how his feathers spread out like that. A real beauty! I expect your other smaller birds were hiding when he was around, the squirrels too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, you got some great captures, particularly the one facing you! We have a Cooper’s that visits our yard quite frequently, particularly when it is very cold. Hubby teases me that I bait the Cooper’s by feeding the little birds. 😦 Yet, it is exciting to watch it come around. Even the squirrels are ‘on guard’ when he’s in the neighborhood!

    Lindy

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

