Friday Fictioneers–Predator

Friday Fictioneers

I’ve been absent from Friday Fictioneers too long! I miss this community of 100-word-story writers. Here is our photo prompt for this week, and my fiction follows.

Photo courtesy of Jean L. Hays

Photo copyright Jean L. Hays

Predator

I stood to stretch at my office window and surveyed the activity on the street below. Not the best part of town, it’s a bit run down. A teenaged girl stepped off the Greyhound bus and looked from side to side. A familiar figure approached, took her by the arm, and led her into a small cafe. I bolted from the office! Bypassing the elevator, I descended the stairs to the street. My trembling fingers opened the cafe door, my eyes darted from table to table. There! I didn’t know how, but I could not let her become a victim, too.

Linking to Addicted to Purple

35 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers–Predator

    • Thanks, Janna. It’s good to get back into the writing habit, I slacked off the last few months. I had to go back and read it, to see if I picked up on the tension. It’s different from this side of the page. 😉

      Like

  1. Excellent story, yes full of tension, a bit sad that one jumps to a negative conclusion of the meeting but that is life nowadays. You could have written the Ratty and Robin story from last Saturday. You. Are a brilliant writer.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

