Exciting Monday; Cooper’s Hawk

It’s chilly here today, low 40s F, windy; teeny tiny raindrops decorate the kitchen window.

My daughter texted a photo of birds in her tree, so I looked out the window to see what was in my backyard–a couple squirrels and few assorted sparrows. And then–THIS! 

Cooper's Hawk knows how to clear a room.

Cooper’s Hawk knows how to clear a room.

It knew the sparrows took cover in the shrub.

It knew the sparrows took cover in the shrub.

"I know you're in there."

“I know you’re in there.”

Which way did they go?

Which way did they go?

The hawk dove into the shrub and flushed a sparrow, then took off after it. It returned rather quickly, so the sparrow must have gotten away.

 

41 thoughts on “Exciting Monday; Cooper’s Hawk

  1. These are beautiful captures!

    We have a Cooper’s Hawk who visits our yard regularly, but he likes to stay within the brush of the conservation area, so I have a difficult time getting clear images of him.

    Lindy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooooooh my, Patti. He’s a handsome fella. I love hawks. We have a couple that have been with us for years and they grab my attention each and every time.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

    • Thanks, Geraldine. This is s WordPress holiday theme, thought I’d try something different–and i was pleased with the look. Might be doing some updating in the new year.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

