Around and About

I had to be upΒ early to drive hubby to work, so I snapped a few shots of autumn in December to share with you.

A Painted Bunting (male) visited us for the first time 12/3.

A Painted Bunting (male) visited us for the first time 12/3.

Can you find the Great Blue Heron?

Can you find the Great Blue Heron?

Fall color

Fall color

Great Egret and Canada Geese

Great Egret and Canada Geese

Fall colors, leaves hanging on

Fall colors, leaves hanging on

There are fences in the background of some of these, but they blend into the scenery. Honest! How about a bulkhead, then? It fences the water in…?

Linking to Good Fences #37

good fences

 

 

and Wednesday Around the World

50 thoughts on “Around and About

    • Bunting sightings are rare in our area, Geraldine. We had a female winter with us last year. I had to ask for ID from other birders, since I’d never seen one. I hoped one day to see a male–and now, I have!

      Like

  1. Your photos are beautiful and looks like autumn is a time for mellowing out quietly just before the snow comes in. Love the colours and of course my fav pic is the first one of the beautiful male Bunting (great how you can get such a close up shot). Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would have missed that heron if you didnt mention it – he (she?) really blends in with the tree trunks. I’m glad your other readers identified the first bird. It is gorgeous, but I had no idea what it was. We get a lot of birds migrating through here and there are a number that I don’t recognize.

    Nancy

    Like

  3. You are the second blogging friend that has shared a Painted Bunting on their blog. I have never seen one in real life, although I’ve been told they do pass through our neck of the woods. Beautiful photographs, Patti! and yes, I found the heron too. πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. I’ve never seen a painted bunting – I don’t think we have them here – and we don’t have cardinals in the UK. We do have parakeets. They originated from escaped pets but now go about in groups and bully the native birds. There’s been a sensation in the news this week about a photo snapped by an amateur photographer of a woodpecker flying with a weasel on its back! Apparently the weasel made a dive for the woodpecker and the pecker flew off. Once it landed the weasel ran away, so the bird escaped! I think the amateur photographer is now extremely rich from the sale of his photo! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

