Wild Bird Wednesday–Yellow-rumped Warbler

Wild Bird Wednesday

We had one warm day last week, so I took advantage of it and went to the botanical garden. As I wandered around one area, I observed a lot of bird activity and went to check it out. The busy little birds I found were Yellow-rumped Warblers. I was happy to find a bench where I could unobtrusively observe, nearly hidden by a Rhododendron. Occasionally, one would stop on a nearby branch before flitting off again.

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumped Warbler, male

You can see how it got the name, the small yellow patch on the rump is exposed as he prepares for takeoff.

You can see how it got the name, the small yellow patch on the rump is exposed as he prepares for takeoff.

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday

Have you shared your birds yet? Join us!

Thanks, Stewart!

35 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday–Yellow-rumped Warbler

    • Thanks, Leticia! Or should I say, Howdy, Neighbor? It’s nice to find bloggers close by. I was surprised to see how many leaves were hanging on as we drove to northern VA this past weekend. They were still quite pretty.

      Like

    • I had a Cooper’s Hawk visit this morning (today’s post). I’m pretty sure that’s what sent all the other birds south! 😉
      I don’t know how those warblers ever get to eat–they’re always too busy chasing each other. We could use some of that Florida sunshine today.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

