Update to Random 5

UPDATE

Here’s the update some of you requested, the follow-up on speaking to my writers group this evening.  I should let you know, I’m not one to get up in front of a people. The first time I read a devotional I’d written, my knees knocked loudly. I had a stool on hand tonight–just in case the knees gave out. 

Aside from a small media issue, where we had to call in the head of the media department, who, thankfully, was working late, it went pretty well.

The highlight, I thought, were your wonderful comments that I shared with the group. Your stories took away the fear of the blog and put relationships with real people in the forefront. No matter where we are on this planet, we have so much in common–we laugh, we cry, we hope and pray, and encourage one another.

As writers, so often we hear “you need a blog, an online presence, you have to market yourself and your product.” That is usually followed by a groan from the masses. I hope I was able to convey that blogging is much more, it can even be fun.

I can’t thank you enough for your heartfelt words regarding your blogging lives, your encouragement to me, and to them. Who knows? Maybe we’ll have some new blogging friends join us soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Update to Random 5

  1. Blogging it so much more than just having a social media presence. I think if that’s your only reason for doing it, you’d get pretty tired of it without getting any benefits back.

    It is fun! And it’s really nice having friends out there. Really, really nice. We do a great job of encouraging each other, supporting each other, and being happy for each other. I think that’s the greatest – being able to share news and have friends be happy for us and with us.

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, the pressure to have social media weighs heavily, and the learning curve to a blog seems steep, and can be overwhelming.
      I’m so glad we met through blogging, Nancy, otherwise, our paths may never have crossed. When the weather gets nice again, I’m going to have to make a trip to your botanical garden for a change. Hopefully, you can go, too!

      Like

      • I’ll make every effort to be there for a visit!

        I’m glad we met also. We’ve really become good friends and the friendships have been the best part of blogging. The content is nice, but the friends are even better.

        People are surprised though when I say I just jumped into the blogging and learned it as I went. If I waited to have it all figured out, I’d never have started my blog. As it was, it took me about a year to really figure out how to use WordPress. At least I get some experience while I was learning!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m glad you made it through the talk (the stool was a great idea!) When I started blogging, it was because of the online presence thing… it didn’t take long before I got caught up in the fun of it all and now, I don’t even care so much about online presence. Funny how it all works out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Janna. I was delighted to see a stool in the room! I’d hoped for a sit-down, chatty kind of visit. It got a little off course with the media issue, but I survived to tell about it–without hospitalization or medics. 😉

      Like

    • I felt so scatter-brained, Georgette. I skipped around in my notes while the media glitch was fixed, and then I had trouble getting back in the flow. Hopefully, the “experience” part came through with how great blogging is. Nature and Family, does it get any better? Thanks for your kindness.

      Like

  3. No doubt your talk with the group was a good one, and so glad you hit the nail on the head about what blogging is! I’m encouraged more and more to see folks my age getting involved and getting active online. The web needs many voices, especially those that espouse truth and beauty, imho. Glad you made it through the speech ok! I feel the same way about getting up in front of others, although not nearly as much as I did in my younger days. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed your presentation Patti. Even though a blogger since 2009, I learned soooooooooooo much more that will be put into practice. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm, and your knowledge.

    Like

  5. Sounds like it went very well. If you are passionate about what you are speaking about, it is always easier. Blogging is all about building relationships and I love it. The friends I have made here are all so special. (like you)

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts.

