Share Your World–2014 Week 44

Share Your World

Here are Cee’s questions and my answers for this week:

What is your most vivid memory of the kitchen in your childhood?
One memory that has stayed with me through the years was a visit from our neighbor who came over for coffee with my mom. When I walked into the kitchen I saw her face was swollen and purple. I don’t remember any conversation, but when I became an adult, I realized she was a victim of domestic violence.

As a child, who was your favorite relative?
My “baby” brother. He was eight years older than I, but the youngest of my three brothers. When he became a teen and was no longer allowed to trick-or-treat, he told me to take two bags and tell people the second one was for my baby brother.

What did you or did you not like about the first apartment you ever rented?
We rented the second floor of an old Victorian house and it was freezing in the winter. The furnace in the basement wouldn’t stay lit, one morning it was 43F inside when we woke up. We didn’t stay there the next winter, when the lease was up, we were gone!

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it.
It would have to be an Oscar Mayer wiener commercial, the jingle has been stuck in my head for years!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I’m grateful for a good report from the eye doctor and looking forward to seeing family.

You can create a Share Your World post and link to Cee’s blog, or leave your answers in the comments below. Please share your thoughts. Pretty please? 

share-your-world2

 

11 thoughts on “Share Your World–2014 Week 44

  1. Wow, that kitchen memory gave me a shiver. How awful for that woman.
    My most vivid kitchen memory is just about every Thanksgiving at my grandparents’ house. My grandma LOVED food! My favorite relative was grandma and grandpa (that’s like one person, right?) My first apartment was a nightmare – it was infested with roaches.

    Like

  2. So sad about your childhood neighbor. I remember my sister (after she’d been married for years) once had a black eye. She told us she’d gotten up during the night and walked into the bedroom door, which was ajar. You may remember, from my blog posts, that many years later, she died as a result of domestic violence. After that, we always wondered….

    Like

  3. Vivid kitchen memory: We had a hideaway ironing board in a very large kitchen. I spent hours ironing helping my mother keep up with laundry. She sat on a bar stool and we talked, and talked and talked. I remember those conversations.
    We had a babysitter for the girls who told us she ran into the bathroom door at night…hmmm

    Like

  4. Love your answers today—the domestic violence one not so much, though. 😦 I need to get back into doing this challenge. I have only done it a couple of times and I really like it. Thanks for reminding me with your post.

    Like

  5. Some very interesting stories, Patti. I have a baby brother, too. He was and is my joy. I like the communal sense of living in an apartment complex. People are nearby but not living with you. Certainly an apartment that is substandard would be unappreciated to the max by anyone. I am living in a house now. There is much to love about one’s own home. Blessings to you…

    Like

  6. my most vivid kitchen memory was eating the warm cookies as mother took them off the cookie sheet.. i did not know or come into domestic violence until i was in my mid 20’s..
    our first apartment was a garage apartment, in a bad but cheap part of town.. my new husband was in the air force and had to go into work at 3 am and after he left i could not sleep. we stayed there 3 months and i nagged him into moving. back in 1963 there were no leases.

    Like

  7. My kitchen memories are just being around my Mama when she was cooking. My favorite (besides my blessed Mama) relative had to be my Uncle Albert ( my Dad’s brother) he was so good to me and treated me like a daughter not a niece. I miss him still today. Our first apt was in Troutville, VA near Roanoke VA and the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbor throwing knifes into the walls, fearing one would come into our apt. Not fun!

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

