Random Five–Monday!

Thanks so much for your blog visits. Life has been a bit crazy lately and I haven’t been able to visit with you as often as I’d like. Let me see if I can wrap my head around what I’ve been up to.

Five Random Thoughts

1. I’m still sorting through vacation photos. I have fond memories of these nachos! They were soΒ good. Wouldn’t mind having some for breakfast this morning.

Nachos at Hilton Head Diner--this was not an ordinary diner!

Nachos at Hilton Head Diner–this was not an ordinary diner!

2. I got a new phone–iPhone 6 Plus. I backed up the 4s to the computer and downloadedΒ most of the info to the new one. I was missing a few contacts, which made life a bit more crazy when I had an appointment, and the address was nowhere to be found. I’m still tweaking/updating, but quite happy with it. Love the new ear buds,Β much more comfortable. It has a nice camera. I’m thinking it will be great for selfies–it’s almost like carrying around a full-length mirror.

photo taken with iPhone 6 Plus

photo taken with iPhone 6 Plus

3. I watched a webinar about writing software, Scrivener. I’ve heard it mentioned several times recently by speakers at our writers group, and also the conference I attended. I have two devotionals to write this week, so I’m going to download the free, 30-day trial. I’m impressed, it’s 30 days of use–not 30 calendar days. The website, Literature and Latte, says if you only write twice a week, that’s 15 weeks. Have you used Scrivener, or know anyone who does? It can be used for blog posts–any writing, really–but especially good for long-form writing. Research links can be saved right in the program! (Another learning curve.)

4. Going to visit family this weekend! SIL and some of the kids are obstacle course racing (OCR) at a new venue, not far from where they live.

5. It was nice to wake up to sunshine this morning, the gray clouds that hovered a few days are long gone. And then I realized how quiet it was–the near-gale-force winds went away, too. It’s a busy week ahead, and I will try to visit your blogs and comment as much as possible. Some things have to be put aside, but your blog friendship nurtures my soul, there will always be a place for you. Thanks to you, and thanks to WordPress, who makes this all possible.

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Random Five–Monday!

    • They were, Carol Ann. πŸ™‚ I don’t know what others use to keep everything together when writing a book–but Scrivener looks like a great idea, and it has a lot of endorsements from well-known writers. Blessings to you.

      Like

  1. I’m all for eating nachos for breakfast… πŸ˜‰ Alas, the low-carb eating plan will not go for that right now. Sigh. I’ve heard of Scrivener, all good, too. Think Michael Hyatt wrote about it recently.

    Like

    • Yes, nachos was a vacation indulgence. I’ll just hold fast to that memory. πŸ˜‰ I downloaded Scrivener this morning and reading through the tutorials contained therein. I don’t think I’ll be writing using it today, a lot of features to learn to maximize its usefulness. The webinar offered video tutorials for visual learners, and the special price offer on those ends at midnight tonight. I wanted to check it out to see if those would benefit me, but the directions are very clear, so I’m not putting the money into those right now. It looks like a great organizational tool for writers, definitely worth the $45 cost.

      Like

  2. Nachos for breakfast? I never thought of them before as a breakfast food but why not? As for the iPhone, we got the 5 about two weeks before the 6 came out. We didn’t know. We were pressured into it by friends and family who kept telling us to join the 21st century. Right now I’m not impressed, though the ear buds are great. I use them with my laptop!

    Like

  3. I love nachos too! Glad you phone is working out for you, some of them can be a reach pain. Enjoy the weekend with your family!

    Like

    • Thanks, Shirley. I’m pretty happy with my phone, though I’m trying to figure out how to wear it so I have music when I go to the rec center to work out. I may have to make something.

      Like

    • Thanks, Janna. Looking forward to seeing the grandkids. It’s been nearly two months–and they grow and change so much in a short time. I’m sure you know about that with your boys. Watching OCR is more my speed, too!

      Like

  4. I’ve been seeing a lot about Scrivener lately too, including some glowing endorsements. I’ll be interested to hear what you think. I’m working on some major writing projects and using Word. I’m an old dog so I don’t learn new tricks well, but if it’s as good as they say, maybe I should try. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’m impressed–all the links and online research can be stored right there in the program. You divide your writing project into workable segments. It’s pretty amazing. I have a previous NaNoWriMo project to import into it, and I’m looking forward to getting it organized and working on it again.

      Like

  5. those Nachos look divine… drooling now… the phone takes super shots… our squirrels eat our grapefruit, our flowers and they make a real mess eating the seeds out of pine cones, they take a pine cone down to nothing on the ground but thorns and a big mess on the pool deck. but i think they are adorable and would never harm one. they are lucky i live here because hubby doesn’t feel the same way

    Like

    • Don’t drool in your computer! πŸ˜‰ I’ve seen pine cones after the squirrels stripped them. There really is nothing left. I watched one eat a huge mushroom one time, and have heard they love daffodil bulbs. Your squirrels are blessed to have you!

      Like

  6. I have used Scrivener software but didn’t like it. I found it overly complicated and not what I wanted. I went back to just using Word 13 for my book projects and it works OK. With a lot of practice with formatting all my kindle books, it’s become a lot easier too.

    sounds like you’ve been very busy Patti, I hope this week is less hectic for you.

    Hugs, G πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’ve not had much experience with writing software, but I think Scrivener will do what I need it to. I appreciate your feedback, Geraldine. You’ve done several books, so you’ve found what works for you–that’s what matters.
      It has been busy, I spent the entire day Monday writing, and got those two projects done. I still have much reading to do with the computer software updates, still figuring out my camera, and now Scrivener…should have a lot to keep me out of trouble and busy until spring! Hugs to you!

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

