Writer’s Conference–Last Day

Good thing it’s the last day of the HRW Conference, I’m ready to sit in my recliner and become a vegetable. Today was better than yesterday, a little less of my brain was fried in the process. (You know there’s not a whole lot left.)Ā 

Today’s Keynote speaker was Brad Parks. This man is hilarious. No, I take that back, he’s just plain nuts! And we loved every minute of it. His afternoon session was standing room only. Someone in the lobby asked me if those were shrieks she heard coming from that room. Yes, I admitted. He got everyone involved. The title of his workshop was “Welcome to the Woodshed: Getting serious about writing.” It’s easy to see why his books have won so many awards.

Another favorite was Charlotte Matthews. She taught on the subject of Memoir, The Notion and Heft of Home. She is a gentle, refreshing soul–a poet–which I learned afterward when looking at her books. I’ve heard and read so many negative comments about memoir, but her workshop breathed life back into my desire to write family-related stories.

Yes, I was refreshed, I laughed, and it was a wonderful day. This time next year, we’ll be doing it all over again. I hope you’ll consider joining us. For more information on the conference and the writing contests, click this link: Hampton Roads Writers

 

18 thoughts on “Writer’s Conference–Last Day

  1. Patti, so glad you enjoyed the conference. I am sure it was very interesting and helpful. You deserve the rest today. Have a good week.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed hearing about the conference and am glad you found it worthwhile. I went several times to the Iowa Writer’s Conference (when we lived in Omaha) and enjoyed it for the same reasons.

    Nancy

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

