Random 5 Friday

Watch out! Randomness coming your way in 3…2…1…BOOM.
(cough, cough) Now that the smoke cleared, I can see to type.

1. Two days ago, there were a bazillionΒ (ok, seven) early-stage Black Swallowtail caterpillars on one small fennel plant. I went out to inventory them today–the plant is gone, and they were nowhere to be found! I didn’t even get pictures of them!

2. I did find four later-stage ones on other plants in the Fennel Jungle. We planted extra fennel last year; we always had lots of caterpillars up until then, and the plants would be bare in no time. Now we have fennel and few caterpillars.

This is the lightest I've seen, usually they're brighter green.

This is the lightest I’ve seen, usually they’re brighter green.

3. Thursday brought thunderstorms. I got trapped in a craft store–my hubby’s worst nightmare.

Seeing all those leaves on the ground made me sad. That's rain on the window, though, not tears.

Seeing all those leaves on the ground made me sad. That’s rain on the window, though, not tears.

4. The wren from Good Fences #24 came back so you could get a rear view.DSCN0220

5. We got a laugh this week. Z started Pre-K, and when she grows up, she wants to do nothing. Thanks to our daughter for sharing the photo.IMG_0057

Hope you have a weekend of smiles, too.

36 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. Love your R5F!
    That little wren is so sweet; wrens are one of my favorite birds.
    So did you do a lot of damage at the craft store???
    Z is so cute — she was honest about what she wants to do!

    Like

  2. Z is adorable and I have a good feeling she will change her mind about what she wants to do. lol The caterpillar is beautiful, I have never seem one that color! Tell your husband you could be catch in the rain in worst places, like a jewelry store! Just R5F!!

    Like

    • We had a good laugh about the jewelry store–that puts things in perspective! LOL I learned the Black Swallowtail caterpillars range from white to bright green. I’ve not seen any but green ones–until now.

      Like

  3. All four of those photos could win prizes, Patti. Sweet Z is beautiful and intelligent, too. I liked her candid answer to a question she really couldn’t answer at her age anyway. Nothing is my favorite thing to do sometimes. Blessings to you…

    Like

  4. I loved your photo’s. LOL getting trapped in a craft store. I had a few caterpillars on my parsley this year but they were smaller than what I’ve seen in previous years. Good luck in school Z! What a cutie.

    Like

  5. I don’t recall seeing a swallowtail caterpillar in years. Thanks for sharing your photo. I’m going to see about getting some fennel.
    I think it would awesome to be trapped in a craft store. Oh the shopping one could do… even if one couldn’t afford it. lol
    lol Z is amazing. She’s so cute. I bet she’s a true delight to be around. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Haha, I’m with your granddaughter – I want to do nothing when I grow up πŸ™‚ (That’s better than my son – in preschool, his answer was “princess”!)

    I haven’t seen any caterpillars this year, but I have seen some big, yellow butterflies.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

