Thankful Thursday–Aunt Nel

Aunt Nel

May 25, 1919-July 30, 2014

38e5781163cf92d3

I’m thankful for the 95 years my mother’s sister, Aunt Nel, had to live her very full life. She was a traditional quilter-extraordinaire. She would never have called herself that, but her handwork proclaimed it. She once joked she couldn’t die yet, she had a quilt to finish.

Mom had never learned to drive, so it was Aunt Nel who took us places–like Trash ‘n’ Treasures–oh, those two were always scouting out places, looking for antique glassware. And fabric stores. I was glad when my cousin, Kathy, went along. At least we could talk to each other while our moms were in their own little world.

I remember Aunt Nel smiling as she told how they tried to pick wet toilet tissue off the shrubs after their house was rolled–and then it rained. I don’t think anything ever upset her.

She always welcomed us into her home whenever we were in town, even when “we” were a group of nine and filled her living room to overflowing.

I will miss her soft, pleasant voice, her dainty sneezes, and most of all, her warm hugs. Thanks for the memories.

Linking to Thankful Thursday

 

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday–Aunt Nel

  1. Dainty sneezes and warm hugs.. so sweet Patti. We are so lucky to have our memories! Love her dainty smile in this picture. I am so sorry Patti.. you have been on my mind. Very sweet tribute to your Aunt Nel.

    Like

  2. Such precious memories that you will always have in your heart. Brings back memories of aunts and great-aunts who meant so much to me as I was growing up. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Like

  3. I would love to see some of her quilting patterns. You were so lucky to have her in your life. Oh my, she was a good sport and wonderful soul. Thank you for sharing her with us.
    She was born the same year my dad was.

    Like

  4. So sorry, Pat, to hear of your Aunt’s passing. What blessed memories you have of her to treasure. The picture of her speaks volumes, a lovely, sweet, and blessed special woman. Your family was blessed to have her.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

