Randomness on Monday

Hello! I hope you had a great weekend. We had a little bit of everything.

Saturday I slept in, and hardly moved a muscle most of the day. (I guess I really needed a rest day after last week.)

We had a thunderstorm that evening; Sunday turned out lovely–after the overcast morning–cooler temperatures, nice breeze–perfect day for an outing.

Sunday morning

Sunday morning

After church we visited Β an antique shop we’d discovered the previous week on our way home from our daughter’s. It’s in a large retail space, with several dealers, and most every inch is filled. Then we wandered backroads, exploring new places–and I forgot my camera! So thankful someone came up with the idea of including a camera on cell phones.

Hubby counted 30 vultures on this cell tower. They appeared to be Turkey Vultures, but not positive.

Hubby counted 30 vultures on this cell tower. They appeared to be Turkey Vultures, but not positive.

We have a new visitor. I wonder if it's this year's model...

We have a new visitor. I wonder if it’s this year’s model…I like the paint job.

Looks like trouble...

Looks like trouble…

...make that DOUBLE TROUBLE

…make that DOUBLE TROUBLE

"Oh, look! Birdseed!"

“Oh, look! Birdseed!”

I’m off to the rec center for a workout. I hope you have a great day!

 

19 thoughts on “Randomness on Monday

    • Aren’t they a mess?! The pigeon stands out from the crowd, I can’t help but wonder if it will be spotted more easily by a predator. Thanks for stopping by, Theresa.

      Like

  1. I love to see a vulture gathering. Since they nest on the ground, they can roost anywhere, and a cell tower has plenty of room for lots of birds. They are wonderful birds for our environment. Can you imagine if they didn’t go around cleaning up all of the dead carrion? Yuck. I think we have two vultures in our area: The turkey vulture, which has a red face and the black vulture, which has a black face. Personally, I prefer the turkey vulture.

    Nice pics. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many together in one spot, Robin. I wasn’t aware they nest on the ground. I am glad they come along and clean up, it would be quite a smelly mess, otherwise.

      Like

  2. This pigeon looks like one that strayed from some pigeon lover’s personal coop. My ex-husband, who raised pigeons, called the look-alike pigeons we often see in flocks together commoners. This one he would have called fancy. If they weren’t commoners, they were fancy, he said.

    Love the double-trouble brothers. So cute! Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

  3. I think your squirrels are plotting a good one! The pigeon certainly is of different coloring. Glad you were able to have a day of rest. We all need them time to time. Have a good week.

    Like

    • Thanks, Shirley. The squirrels are so funny. One of the weedy shrubs was getting out of hand near the feeder pole, and two of these young squirrels jumped from the shed to the shrub. The third one watched for a while, then went over the roof edge and “walked” down the corner of the siding to the ground. I hope you have a good week, too.

      Like

  4. Relaxed at the beach today after a busy and emotionally draining week. Flew out to Alberta suddenly (unplanned) to spend time with my ailing mother. Then returned to a successful book launch on the weekend. I guess life has its ups and downs. The pigeon is lovely.

    Like

  5. Yep, I think you have trouble times two.. maybe more. CH and I spent the weekend with some kind of stomach thing we got from our 1 year and 3 month old great nephew.. or is it grand nephew? What do you think? He is CH’s Brother’s daughter’s son. I googled which only led to more confusion. What am I doing up at 2:13am. I can’t ever sleep at night!

    Like

    • I always used the term great, but since blogging, I’ve seen grand used. Maybe it depends on where you’re from–a regional thing. I’m having trouble staying awake since I started working out at the rec center.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

