Wild Bird Wednesday–Orchard Oriole?

Help! Can any Wild Bird Wednesday feathered-friend watchers identify this bird? It appears to be an Orchard Oriole, but having never seen one, I seek confirmation (or correction). 

Sunday we visited a wildlife refuge on the Eastern Shore of Virginia. This bird didn’t like me following it around with the camera, so I didn’t get very good shots. The black head covering, deep rusty-colored breast and rump, sharp beak and thin wing stripe led me to this conclusion.

This was the best shot of the beak, it seems too pointy to be a Black-headed Grosbeak.

This was the best view of the beak, it seems too pointy to be a Grosbeak.

This was the best shot of the wing bar.

This was the best shot of the wing bar.

Linking to Wild Bird Wednesday

Thanks for your help, and to Stewart for hosting the great meme.

 

 

20 thoughts on “Wild Bird Wednesday–Orchard Oriole?

    • Linn saw this one before I did, Carol Ann. We heard a catbird, but none of those pictures turned out. It sounded like a cat meowing. We also learned how the Laughing Gulls came by their name. Too funny! Thank you.

      Like

    • It’s always a delight to find a new bird. Thanks to Wild Bird Wednesday, often I can identify a new bird by having seen it posted by someone else.

      Like

  1. Lovely bird. I call most any bird that I can’t identify a “Sparkling”. I’ve gotten frowns from bird-snobs when I do that, so I then further annoy them by calling cranes and herons, “pterodactyls”. lol That’ll learn them… lol
    It’s nice you got the pretty bird identified. But I think Sparkling would fit it just fine too. 😉

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

