Random on Monday

Hi! I’ve wanted to write a chatty post to update the happenings around here, and decided to use this format. Random 5 Friday has been discontinued, so I’m going to be Random on Monday this week.

1. I apologize for not visiting your blogs as much as I’d like in the past week or so. I’m still transferring files from the PC to the Mac, and moving hubby’s from his tiny netbook to the larger laptop PC. Then I’ve had to figure out where those files went sometimes!

2. We’ve been getting a lot of rain, the weeds are growing like, well, weeds! Those of you in the states ravaged by the recent spate of tornadoes and such have been on my heart and in my prayers. I hope you are all well.

3. I was in high gear last week, getting things in order at home to spend this week at my daughter’s. Then she called, things weren’t going according to plan there, so the trip was postponed.

4. Saturday was filled with yard work and housework; Sunday we took a much needed day of rest and ran away from home. We drove across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel to the Eastern Shore of Virginia, took a short walk at a wildlife refuge to stretch our legs, then continued north to Chincoteague Island.

5. I met my new massage therapist today. She did a great job working on my knotty muscles, guess I won’t have to go to Japan, after all. (The last therapist’s husband was transferred there–and she went, too!)

31 thoughts on “Random on Monday

  1. The storms have been awful. Bless the hearts of all the folks suffering and losses.
    The Island is charming. What a wonderful way to escape for the day and enjoy life.
    I’ve enjoyed your randomness very much.
    I hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

  2. Sounds like you’ve been awfully busy. Your trip on Sunday was a well deserved break…and your pictures make me wish I lived closer to you. Glad your massage did the trick…I really do need to look into that, but I’m kind of weird, don’t like strangers touching me (I know, I know). Anyhow, I hope this week is filled with fun and relaxation for you.

    Like

    • I wish you lived closer, too, Patti. My daughter is the same way about massage. She’d be happy to just have the room all to herself for an hour! LOL

      Like

  3. Nice pics, Patti. And when you finish organizing your computers, there’s a couple over here that need a lot of work. I heard the Geek Squad is looking for a few good techs.

    Like

  4. Glad you have found a new massage therapist who suits you.
    Chincoteague Island. My sister just received a marriage proposal there two weekends ago! You’re the first in the blogosphere to hear.

    Like

  5. Gorgeous photos! I love the Eastern Shore! Although we just went a few weeks ago we have some hiking planned and are going to canoe to one of the barrier islands…one of the ones which allows camping, hoping for some super moon/star shots.

    Like

    • I saw you’d been over there. So much to explore! We’ll definitely go back, but we won’t be camping. HA!
      I know you and Charles will get some great shots.

      Like

  6. I miss random five Friday so was delighted to find your randoms on awakening this morning. I have been wanting to go to Chincoteague but have never gotten there. Well, one of these wild days!! The pictures are so inviting.

    Like

    • We drove up there once before, it’s not as far as I thought, Latane. I’d like to see a rocket launch from Wallops Island sometime. (It’s right next to Chincoteague). Thanks!

      Like

  7. Glad you found a new massage therapist (I still need to have my FIRST massage!) I know you’re disappointed not to see your little grands this week.
    We’re planning a trip to Chincoteague this weekend! Hope the weather cooperates.

    Like

    • Thanks, Pix. I AM really happy with the Mac, for many reasons. Hubby’s netbook runs XP, so we knew it was time to make some changes. I used Firefox instead of IE for awhile, then switched to Chrome, then back to Firefox…Nothing seems to work perfectly for everything. I put Chrome back on the laptop for hubby. It is fun to run away every so often. 🙂

      Like

  8. Loved the pictures and thanks for the photos of the wildlife refuge. I will have to check that one out next time we go to the Eastern Shore. Happy to hear you have found another massage therapist to your liking. Hubby changed over to a Mac a while ago and loves it. I have a Dell laptop but do have an IPad and love that.

    Like

    • It’s on the lower Eastern Shore, as you near the north end of the bridge-tunnel. I got an iPad last year, and couldn’t wait to get a Mac to sync it with! My PC runs on Vista; I could use it for backing up, but it wasn’t flawless.

      Like

  9. You’ve been busy! We’ve been trying to get stuff done around the house, too (mostly outside… have so much to do before monsoon storms start in June!) I’m sorry the visit to your daughter’s was postponed… hope you get to go soon 🙂

    Like

    • Today I spent almost the entire day importing songs from our vast cd collection to iTunes. It’s something I’ve thought about for quite some time, it’s a good feeling to be almost done with that project. But I got nothing else done! Hubby brought pizza home for dinner. 🙂

      Like

    • It is a lovely place, Drusilla. Today’s blog, Good Fences #6, has more info about the pony swim and auction. Apparently it draws a LOT of people every summer. There was a copy of the book in our school library, but I don’t remember the story. I should try to find it and read it again.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

