Random 5 Friday

Welcome to Random 5 Friday where we share five random things about us, our family, whatever comes to mind, basically. Then we link to Nancy’s blog, A Rural Journal, and see what randomness others have shared. Join in the fun! There are a lot of great folks over there.

1. The rain from this nor’easter effectively rid our yard of snow–and the wind took care of everything else that wasn’t nailed down.

2. I enjoy feeding and watching birds in my backyard.

Birds? What birds?

Birds? What birds?

3. I found a way to enjoy those snowy house-bound days–I fixed lunch and invited a few friends over.

Ring-billed Gulls

Ring-billed Gulls

4. Wishing my daughter a Happy Birthday! She’ll be celebrating at home this year, after she placed her family under quarantine. They’ve been sharing colds, stomach virus,Β  and strep for nearly a month. In a family of nine, that’s a lot of cleaning.Β  She says she’s giving up carpet for Lent.

5. Not sure if I’ve shared this mermaid. She didn’t show up in a photo search.

Norfolk Mermaid on Parade

Norfolk Mermaid on Parade

I hope you have a great weekend!

8616512946_a8c5cf857d_o

30 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. Those are some very fat, well fed squirrels!! The snow is high enough in our back yard that my squirrel proof and deer proof feeders are no longer squirrel or deer proof! πŸ™‚ I will be glad when it is all gone!

    Like

  2. don’t remember seeing that harlequin mermaid before. πŸ™‚ #4 – poor girl! hope they all get better! loved your herd o’ squirrels and then another of gulls. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • The squirrels don’t usually tolerate each other in close proximity, Theresa. I was delighted to get them all in one shot.
      I think the family is on the mend, though our SIL came home from a business trip, took the youngest six to the doctor, and now he’s not feeling well.
      I’m surprised at how quickly a gull or two turns into a flock.

      Like

    • The past few days, every time I put out seed a huge flock of blackbirds arrives and cleans out what they can get to. Thank you, it seems they are on the mend. She said there was a glimmer of light in the kids’ eyes on Friday that she hadn’t seen in awhile.

      Like

  3. Doesn’t sound like your daughter’s family is having much fun so far this year. The Better Half and I had a rough start passing a flu back and forth. I think we have it licked–just in time for allergy season πŸ™‚

    Love the squirrels and birds. Animals are fascinating to watch.

    Like

    • No, they’re not, TBM. Sorry to hear you’ve both been passing it back and forth, too. Hopefully allergy season won’t be too bad for you. Thanks for stopping to see the critters. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Love the pretty mermaid. You have a large group of squirrels there to feed. I hope your daughters family are all feeling better now. Have a happy weekend!

    Like

    • Thanks, Eileen. Yes, our squirrel family has multiplied. I can’t wait to see how many we have come spring! They’re going to have to get jobs to pay the seed bill! LOL The kids have all been to the doctor and are on the mend. Only a couple had strep, others had a virus.

      Like

  5. Those squirrels know exactly where the finest dining is! Can you believe we get gulls here in land-locked central Indiana? Just for a short period of time every year…we’ve got a large lake just down the road so I figure they’re stopping to rest while on their way to wherever…

    Like

  6. Patti I feel so bad for your daughter.. 😦 I am wishing her a Happy Birthday! I think the mermaid is BIG and awesome. When I first looked at the picture with the squirrels, I thought you had planted something that was furry.. 😯

    Like

  7. Happy Birthday to your daughter. I hope she had a wonderful day.
    I enjoyed your R5F
    I like your critter photos, they’re so fun.
    Nice mermaid. You do seem to encounter alot of them.
    Hope you have a great week. πŸ™‚

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

