Cloud Cover

Image

The sky never ceases to amaze me. Yes, I had my head in the clouds again. This was taken as I drove home from the Traveling Pen workshop, Saturday. (Isn’t that a great name for a writing workshop?)

I love that perfectly-straight line that allows a peek of the blueness beyond. To me, this demonstrates why it is called “cloud cover.” Doesn’t it look like a soft blanket, or partially-rolled-up window shade?

Did you have a good weekend? What did you do?

We don’t follow NASCAR as avidly as we used to, but decided to watch the Daytona 500 Sunday. Not even an hour into the race (which started around 1:00 p.m.) it began to rain. The race was red-flagged and didn’t begin again until 8:30 p.m. That made for a long day for everyone. Fans were evacuated from the stands when lightning threatened. Estimated attendance at a Daytona race is 250,000. That’s a lot of a people to evacuate. Congratulations to Dale Earnhardt, Jr. on his win. I know “Jr.” is dropped when there is no longer a “Sr.,” but his father’s legend lives on in the racing world.

24 thoughts on “Cloud Cover

    • We’ve attended a few races, and it’s always a traffic nightmare, coming and going. Then there’s the distance of walking after parking. Have never been to a track as large as Daytona, or with nearly that many people. I can only imagine what their day was like.

      Like

  1. Beautiful picture! I think it’s been MANY years since 250,000 people were at any Nascar race; those stands are sadly very empty, even in pretty weather. Hubby took an early evening nap and stayed up to watch the end of the race. Not me!

    Like

  2. Patti, your title and picture are a perfect match and yes, it does look like a soft cover to wrap up in. This weekend we lollygagged. I learned that term from an English friend. And we watched the Downton Abbey finale.

    Like

  3. I love the clouds! They are so pretty any time of day, but I really like them at sunrise or sunset. We started watching the race, but changed the station when the rain delay started.

    Like

    • Everything looks better at those two times, Jayne. 🙂 It’s hard to watch when it starts raining on the race, don’t know if it’s going to be shortened, called, or run the next day.

      Like

  4. Lovely cloud cover picture. It is snowing here!! We never get snow, especially this late in the season. So we are all staying put and trying to keep warm. Hubby and I have been to a couple of Molson Indie races and enjoyed them.

    Like

    • They’ve started running Indy cars at Richmond, about 1-1/2 hours from us, Darlene. We’ve yet to go see them. It is getting colder here this week, chance of flurries Wednesday morning. Areas north of us got snow today.

      Like

  5. I’m not a huge fan, but I would love to go to a race and experience it firsthand. Hopefully not on a rain day. Not sure i’d last that long. but we have had a lot of experience with rain delays in NY while watching tennis.

    Like

  6. Yes your picture of the cloud cover does look like a warm blanket! Not a fan of car racing(horse racing either). We had a nice weekend! Walked The Tiny Ten, went to lunch, took a country road ride and watched a couple of good movies. Did laundry. Where does all that laundry come from? We are just two!

    Like

    • That sounds like a great weekend to me. I’m the same with horse racing. There’s something about them, giving their all, that brings tears to my eyes when I’ve had the occasion to watch. And to see a horse get hurt…too sad. I’m with you on laundry for two. Hubby insists on wearing clothes to work every day!

      Like

  7. The blue looks like my “blankie.” My daughter was at the Daytona 500 with friends. Jeff Gordon is her #1 so it wasn’t her day all the way round.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  8. It certainly made for a long day – I think I was up until 1 AM waiting to see is ‘Jeffie’ (as my mom calls him) won for a 4th time. Really glad Jr. got the win, though. It’s been too long since he won.

    And I like your clouds. I always wonder why some clouds look like they are flat on the bottom, almost like there is a glass ceiling under them pushing them up into puffy mounds. Have a good day, Patti.

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

