Random 5 Friday

Friday was a busy day, so I’m doing Random 5 Friday on Saturday.

1. Today’s high was 72F. We’re currently in the midst of a Severe Thunderstorm Warning and Tornado Watch. This has been one week of crazy weather, a little bit of everything thrown in. We now know our NOAA weather radio works (loud)! We bought one for hurricane season, which, thankfully, turned out to be uneventful.

2. A pot of vegetable soup is simmering on the stove, the TV is on FOX for the NFL playoff game between the Seahawks and Saints. Hubby is still at work, but is going to pick up a loaf of Panera’s Tomato Basil bread on his way home. For dessert: Blackberry Cobbler

3. Our treadmill was delivered and assembled Friday. Looking forward to increasing my winter activity level (and burning off all those Christmas calories).

4. A Song Sparrow got a bath before the rain came,

Song Sparrow

Song Sparrow

and our unidentified green bird is still here.

Mystery bird

Mystery bird

5. Here’s the mermaid for the week:

Norfolk Mermaid on Parade

Norfolk Mermaid on Parade

8616512946_a8c5cf857d_oThanks for joining me for Random 5 Friday. Follow the link to see what others are sharing.

27 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

  1. okay, that shot of the green bird really does look like a painted bunting to me! your song sparrow is adorable! 72. wow. hotter than we were today in texas. bb cobbler is my FAVE!

    Like

  2. Fun bird pictures! Isn’t this weather crazy? All of the snow we had (and we had quite a bit) melted overnight. Couldn’t believe it when I looked out the window when I woke up this morning. Mmm…vegetable soup…I think I’ll make some in the crockpot tomorrow. Have you started walking on the treadmill yet?

    Like

    • Thanks, Patti. It is crazy weather, but it can be 72 anytime it wants! LOL I like when snow goes away as quickly as it came. Haven’t gotten on our treadmill yet, need to read the manual first. I’ve used the same model at my daughter’s, but want to set up user-1 and user-2 to track fitness, etc.

      Like

  3. I hope those storms do not materialize in your area. The sparrow is adorable. Your mystery bird is unusual. Soup sounds good on a cold day. It’s been cold here in the mornings. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

    • All clear on the weather front, Carol Ann. I was surprised to see a little green bird, had a hard time identifying it, couldn’t get a good photo. The soup was good, even on a warm day. Blessings to you.

      Like

  4. My treadmill is very lonely in the basement. Hope all is well this morning after the weather alerts. That Song Sparrow has me cracking up this morning, what a bird face.. 🙂 I can’t believe that mystery bird is still hanging at your house and it is still a mystery! That beak is looking more finch-like in that photo. I think Tex has solved the mystery! Oops I just read your comment that all is safe.

    Like

  5. Love the splashing bird picture the best of all today!!! Hopefully all the bad weather is past you and you are headed towards more even weather. It has been a bit crazy this year, hasn’t it? Stay safe.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Random 5 Friday | A New Day Dawns

Please share your thoughts.

