Random 5 Friday

Nancy is taking a break for the holiday season, but I’m going to continue Random 5 Friday posts. Here goes:

1. I awakened to chirping around 7:30 this morning. No, it wasn’t a bird this time, it was the carbon monoxide detector. Do I qualify as a morning person now?

2. I’m glad I got up early, it’s 77F! I turned off the heat and opened the back door to invite it inside.

3. This is what I saw when I opened the door:

Apparently, the leaves liked the "welcome" message and gathered there.

Apparently, the leaves liked the “welcome” message and gathered there.

4. I baked a 13×9 pan of Pumpkin Pie-less (no crust). The kitchen smells so good!

5. I’m still kicking myself for missing the photo op of the year. I stop by the kitchen window several times a day to observe any visiting birds. Wednesday, I bopped up to the window and there stood a Cooper’s Hawk in the middle of the pedestal birdbath! I saw it. It saw me. I held very still (camera just out of reach!) but it was leery of the movement detected by its keen eyesight, and flew away.

That sums up my Random 5 Friday. What randomness is wandering in your head? Please share.

 

37 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

    • Thanks, Theresa. It seems to be the alarm unit, new batteries were installed last month, and now they’re dead. Putting new ones in brought up the ERR message. It’s outlived the warranty period, so it looks like time for a new one.

      Like

    • LOL Pix. No, not a morning person. Brrrr! You need to get yourself over here! It’s down to 49 now. Still beats 19 and 4! Looks like rain the next four days. I imagine you’re right about the hawk returning.

      Like

  1. Glad you have some pleasant weather where you are….wherever that is…..we are expecting a high today of 25 degrees and I am in Central Texas. brrrrr.
    Our leaves congregate in our yard….they have decided the side yard fence is a good meeting place and they all come running up the street at the same time trying to beat each other to our fence first. Seriously. We get the leaves from the entire neighborhood. You know….out of 20 years of living here, not once has any of our neighbors ever stopped and asked if we’d like some help bagging up the mess!
    I am NOT a morning person. Not unless it’s 2:30 in the morning….frequently, I am up and on the computer at that time. πŸ™‚ Soak in some sunlight for me!

    Like

    • Brrrr is right! I hope you weren’t affected by the ice storms I read about. I loved your description of the leaves and could see them in action. You and I keep the same hours! I’m trying to get to bed earlier. If I can’t fall asleep, at least I can catch up on reading. I tried to harness all the sunlight I could, rain in the forecast the next four days.

      Like

  2. You qualify as a morning person for one day, at least, indeed! I don’t think we have a carbon monoxide detector, but we are usually up before 7:00 a.m., even when we go to bed late and are tired the next day. We all have our own inner alarm clock, I guess. I’m glad you heard the alert. I like your welcome mat with the leaves all around it. Blessings to you, Patti…

    Like

  3. I hate it when the perfect picture gets away…happens to me all the time. Is there any of that pumpkin pie left? I can be over there in 20 minutes!

    Like

  4. To bad that hawk got away without that perfect photo!
    I did a Random Five on Emjay’s blog…I hate to repeat myself!
    1. reading blogs without coffee
    2. get from in front of computer and make some coffee
    3. see what other birds have found the feeder
    4. sort more photos
    5. monochrome day here and very cold

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing “Random 5” thoughts with me, Linda. I’ve been starting my day with a cup of hot green tea, it’s growing on me. Our days have been monochrome, too.

      Like

  5. 1. Love the photo 2 sorry you missed the hawk 3 I’d sure miss the crust! and !! 4 It’s 36, oops, I don’t have that little degree circle on my keyboard, or maybe it’s hiding? Anyhoo I’ve flung the windows open and I’m sucking-in the fresh air. 5 Thank God for the carbon monoxide detector, otherwise you would have been flying away with the little birdies! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. I like crust, but I don’t need the calories. The carbon monoxide detector was trying to tell us its days were over. It has been replaced with a new one.

      Like

  6. I am a morning person but it is very cold here in Kansas. Windchill of -5 today. I love looking around and seeing what God is doing in my life and the lives of those around me. Right now He is blessing me with time to spend with my adorable niece. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

    Like

  7. The hawk sounds like an awesome sighting! It cold here too and we are due to get snow-sleet-freezing rain tomorrow. The Pumpkin pie sounds delicious. Have a happy weekend!

    Like

  8. Hawks are amazing! There was one on a cable out in our backyard. I got the long lens out and was shooting through the glass. He moved his head towards me in the window every time the shutter clicked…from inside…behind glass….many yards away……He could hear that? Holy cow!

    Like

  9. I can relate to your bird-that-got-away story. I’ve had the same thing happen with a black and white woodpecker that hangs around!

    And pumpkin pie without the crust – yum. If I didn’t live across the country, I’d grab some whipped cream and stop by πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. WOW! I can’t imagine the wonders of turning off the heat because it is warm!! LUCKY YOU!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    ΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’β™ͺβ™«β™«β™ͺMerry Christmas β™ͺβ™«β€’*Β¨*β€’.ΒΈΒΈβ™₯
    Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœβ€

    Like

Please share your thoughts.

