Friday Fictioneers–6 December 2013

It’s a busy time of year, and I missed Friday Fictioneers last week, but I’m back this week with a 100-word story which follows the photo prompt provided by Randy Mazie.

Copyright: Randy Mazie

Copyright: Randy Mazie

No Trespassing

Lydia never saw it coming. She was focused on the chemo and side effects, and carried the hope of health.

John, on the other hand, sought consolation in the arms of another. The day came when he broke the news to Lydia; he couldn’t go on watching her suffer so. He packed his bag and left.

Lydia boarded the windows of her heart and posted a “No Trespassing” sign.

Five years of remission later, a gentleman came into her life and said, “I’m going to sweep you off your feet.” She told him he’d better have a pretty stiff broom.

Now it’s your turn! Hop over to Friday Fictioneers to find out how you can join in this fun writing exercise. Lots of new friends await!

66 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers–6 December 2013

  1. What an interesting take on the prompt. The symbolism is perfect, Patti!

    I wish I were as focused as you. I just can’t seem to ‘read’ and then write on every prompt every week. This prompt whispered at me, but my story came up as boring to my mind. 😐

    Like

  2. Ah, she’s learnt a lesson! And a hard one at that! You wrote a truism about cancer – it can break up marriages. I don’t know if that knowledge was in the background of your story. ‘We’ve’ just passed our 7th year of remission (November 7th) – my husband tried to use it as an excuse to get me to leave him – but I wouldn’t! Anyway, great take on the prompt. 🙂

    Like

  3. Nice metaphor. I would never have thought to go that way, because I look at a picture very literally. You obviously look at it with imagination.

    I gave this a try this week. Very fun, even though writing fiction is not my strength…or so my Creative Writing professor told me. She said I should write essays 🙂 She is absolutely right, but it was fun to try fiction.

    Like

    • I lean toward nonfiction, too, Robin. This meme stretches me out of my comfort zone. I started with a more literal interpretation on the first few, but now I look for something different.

      Like

Please share your thoughts.

