Random 5 Friday

IMG_1127

1. We’re getting fall color!

2. We've lived in this area 37 years, and today was the first time we visited Doumar's, which has been in business since 1904. About time, right?

2. We’ve lived in this area 37 years, and today was the first time we visited Doumar’s, which has been in business since 1904. About time, right?

3. And I wonder why the birdbath is always empty. Apparently, the Cardinal has been taking lessons from the Blue Jay.

3. And I wonder why the birdbath is always empty! Apparently, the Cardinal has been taking lessons from the Blue Jay.

I added several new mermaids to my photo library. This isn't the prettiest one I've ever seen.

4. I added several new mermaids to my photo library. This isn’t the prettiest one I’ve ever seen.

5. Miss Literacy lives outside the local newspaper office.

5. Miss Literacy lives outside the local newspaper office.

Linking to A Rural Journal, Random 5 Friday

 

 

 

 

34 thoughts on “Random 5 Friday

    • I was hoping to find enough mermaids to last through the winter, Theresa. 😉 It was around 70 here today, tomorrow night’s low expected to be 28. We were glad to have this day to get out and “play.”

      Like

  1. Hasn’t the foliage been beautiful?? It seems to be lasting longer than I can ever remember.
    Gotta love Doumar’s! I did a blog post months ago about meeting Mr Doumar.

    Like

    • There are a few trees that are outstanding when it comes to color. I saw a maple (I think) with the reddest leaves, and the ground under it was the same color. Wish I’d gotten a shot of that one, Jayne. There are a lot of Bradford pears here, used in the medians in some areas. They put on a show, spring and fall.

      Like

  2. You still have fall leaves? Lucky girl, ours are all down and a melted brown. They were spectacular this year thought, now time for the rain. Love that you go around collecting mermaids. I saw a girl today with aqua hair. She looked like a lost mermaid in the city. Actually, I see her around quite a bit. Last year the lost city mermaid was a poem inspiration for the Sunday whirl is I remember. I hope your weekend is shaping up nicely 🙂

    Like

    • Many of our leaves are down, but some are still hanging on, Veronica. Aqua hair, that’s different. Most of the bold colors I’ve seen here are reds and purple. It’s shaping up to be cold here, so I’m glad we got out and enjoyed the day Friday. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  3. Oooh, lovely fall colors! Many of our leaves have shaken off. We’ve had rain all day today and will likely continue through Sunday. Tomorrow we’ll head farther north in search of snow – I want to get a family photo with a snowy background to send out with our Christmas cards 🙂

    Glad you got to try a new BBQ place. Hope it was yummy!

    Like

    • The BBQ was really good. I like that you drive to the background scenery for your Christmas photo, Janna. It rained here Friday night, temps are dropping, wind picking up. Wind chill to feel like 15 Sunday morning! Not ready for cold!OK, I’ll stop whining now. 😉

      Like

    • It is hard to identify who/what is in the birdbath, Pix! He was really enjoying himself. Maybe he knew a weather change is coming and had to get those feathers ready.
      We are surrounded by autumn colors, but a few trees put on a brilliant display. Good Saturday morning to you!

      Like

  4. Hi Patti,
    What a great post. I love the fall colors the best, but your birdbath shot make me nostalgic for Cardinals and Eastern Blue Jays, which I grew up with back east, and neither of which do we have in Seattle.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Random 5 Friday: 1/17/14 | small house/BIG GARDEN

Please share your thoughts.

